Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2013, 07:18 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 49
Share |
Default

Question about "full data backup"


What software do you have that is not replaceable?

If you have the installer files (in a CD or your internal HD), you can reinstall your softwares into any HD/PC. I consider installer files as data so they get synced into my portable backup HD.

I used to clone my HD but a clone HD is not always bootable and immediately accessible when you hook up the clone HD to a new PC. That's because the new PC would have newer hardware (e.g., motherboard) that requires various new drivers that are not in your old HD. Sometimes a software in the clone HD will not work because it requires new drivers in the new PC that has a different OS. The clone HD works very well when you use it with a PC that's almost the same as your dead old PC. Essentially, tweaking a new PC to make it work with a clone HD from an older PC takes up as much time as installing everything fresh.

When I buy a new PC, I just use whatever programs are pre-installed in it. A data backup is usually accessible on any PC. Most important files (deeds, birth certificates, contracts, photos etc) can be kept in common formats (PDF, jpg) that don't require special softwares to be opened. MS office files (usually doc and xslx) can be opened by other programs too so the new PC doesn't even have to have MS office installed to access them.

I then do a fresh install of softwares I want that are not pre-installed in the new PC.

Druidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:51 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Druidia View Post
What software do you have that is not replaceable?

If you have the installer files (in a CD or your internal HD), you can reinstall your softwares into any HD/PC. I consider installer files as data so they get synced into my portable backup HD.
I've got a cadd program that I purchased from a business half way across the US. It has a complicated install and I couldn't get it to install. The business that I purchased it from had to take control of my computer remotely and even they had a difficult time getting it to install but finally managed. That was back in 2009 I think. I don't want to have to go through that again.

reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
Plumbing for new shower kit question noviceshock Plumbing 6 03-02-2013 08:11 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.