Question About "full Data Backup" - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2013, 03:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Here is the very first thing that you need to understand

I'm 70 years old (that should tell you something!) and not a geek. I can use a computer, as I've done for 40 years, but I don't understand as much as I used to when MS-DOS was around. I've recently started worrying about computer failure or hard drive failure etc.

Here is my question:

I want to clone, copy, image etc etc etc or whatever it takes to save everything on my hard drive. In case I have a failure I want to be able to take that "image" or whatever and load it onto a new hard drive and just continue on like nothing ever happened. Is this possible and if so, how do I do it.

Remember, I'm 70 You need to bring yourself down to talking to a 3 year old.

I use Windows 7 premium home edition on a Dell Inspiron 545S with a 640 GB hard drive although I only use about 60 GB of that space.

I have read some about "full data backup", but I don't completely understand what is included and I can't find a definitive answer. Does full data back up mean that all of the loaded software programs (to HD) are part of that data?

Advertisement


Last edited by reteng; 12-14-2013 at 03:56 AM.
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:03 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,693
Rewards Points: 2,064
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Here's some info on where to start -
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...n-windows-7-8/

rossfingal

Advertisement

rossfingal is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rossfingal For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (12-14-2013)
Old 12-14-2013, 07:03 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Generally, data back up, is only the info"data", not the program that uses that data.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
raylo32 (12-14-2013)
Old 12-14-2013, 07:31 AM   #4
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,096
Rewards Points: 604
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Yes, data is just that, pictures, word processing documents, etc. You need to image your drive to capture the operating system and programs. Rossfingal sent you what you need to do it. You make an image right from Windows 7. I do this myself but have never needed to actually recover from the image, but it's there if/when I need it.

Obviously you should send the image to a separate hard drive since a hard drive crash is most likely when you will need the image. You can add a second hard drive to your computer or use an external HD. Another way to do this is to plug a network drive into your router and send the backup images for all your computers there. But you need Win7 pro to be able to do that since Win7 Home Premium will not back up an image to a network drive. If you decide to go this route you can do a Windows anytime upgrade right from Windows Control Panel.
__________________
Live long and prosper.

Last edited by raylo32; 12-14-2013 at 07:33 AM.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 08:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Question about "full data backup"


reteng - Using the full backup has its uses, but may not restore to a new piece of hardware. It's very useful if a hard disk fails or you get a nasty virus.

I usually advise people to know where their files are - and only back up what is needed. (in addition to the full backup). This also makes it easy when you get a new PC.

This will mean taking time to understand Windows explorer and where individual programs files are stored. If you use a program understand where its putting the files you save.

The end result it you usually only have to back up two folders (directories):

1) C:\Users\"your user name"
2) Another folder you create for storing files - I recommend giving it a name beginning with an "underscore" so it's on top alphabetically.

You can set an automatic backup for these directories, or just copy /paste periodically.
tribe_fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:57 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Data backup is just your data, not the programs in your PC. A data backup is probably sufficient for you.

1. Organize your data in one folder/directory. There can be subfolders. For example, you can have all data in drive D. Under drive D, you can have folders like Medical, Banks, Property, etc.

2. Buy a portable HD. Size depends on how much data you have/will have.

3. Copy data from data drive/folder into your portable HD. Update your backup regularly (e.g., weekly).

You can use a synchronizing software to make updates easier. I use Comparator Fast but there are many other brands available. File synchronizers scan both your source and destination folders. They find newer files and missing files (files in your source folder but not in your destination folder, and vice versa).

Ideally, your backup HD should be stored somewhere else so that in the event of, e.g., a fire, your data won't be destroyed. If that's not a concern, then just keep the backup HD in your house. My portable HD lives in my backpack/purse.

optional:
I have my backup portable HD encrypted so it can't be read (generally) in case my purse/backpack/HD ends up in someone else's hands.
Druidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 12:14 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Here's some info on where to start -
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...n-windows-7-8/

rossfingal
Thank you for this web page. This looks like it answers my question.

Last edited by reteng; 12-17-2013 at 05:02 AM.
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 12:36 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by tribe_fan View Post

I usually advise people to know where their files are - and only back up what is needed. (in addition to the full backup). This also makes it easy when you get a new PC.

This will mean taking time to understand Windows explorer and where individual programs files are stored. If you use a program understand where its putting the files you save.

The end result it you usually only have to back up two folders (directories):

1) C:\Users\"your user name"
2) Another folder you create for storing files - I recommend giving it a name beginning with an "underscore" so it's on top alphabetically.

You can set an automatic backup for these directories, or just copy /paste periodically.
You are touching on one of my complaints with Windows. In my view these programs are getting way too complicated for people like me. I used to look at the files on the hard drive and everything made sense. By that I mean the organization of the files. I don't remember which Windows OS it was, it may be this one, that when I looked at the organization of the files it had duplicate folders EVERYWHERE. At least, that what it seems like to me.

Just as an example, I can find the same photo file in multiple places even though I only saved it to one place. That just confuses me. Then I worry that they all all linked so if I delete something "here" it's going to be deleted everywhere. So I leave them all. I'm probably the only person that is troubled by this.

You mentioned about knowing where program files are stored. That has been an issue for me. I've spent time looking for "where the heck did the program put that file".
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 12:41 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by Druidia View Post
Data backup is just your data, not the programs in your PC. A data backup is probably sufficient for you.

1. Organize your data in one folder/directory. There can be subfolders. For example, you can have all data in drive D. Under drive D, you can have folders like Medical, Banks, Property, etc.

2. Buy a portable HD. Size depends on how much data you have/will have.

3. Copy data from data drive/folder into your portable HD. Update your backup regularly (e.g., weekly).

You can use a synchronizing software to make updates easier. I use Comparator Fast but there are many other brands available. File synchronizers scan both your source and destination folders. They find newer files and missing files (files in your source folder but not in your destination folder, and vice versa).

Ideally, your backup HD should be stored somewhere else so that in the event of, e.g., a fire, your data won't be destroyed. If that's not a concern, then just keep the backup HD in your house. My portable HD lives in my backpack/purse.

optional:
I have my backup portable HD encrypted so it can't be read (generally) in case my purse/backpack/HD ends up in someone else's hands.
All good information, thank you. I need more than just data backup. I have a software program that is not replaceable. That's why I need everything.

Here is something that is unrelated and I can't find an answer to. How to I adjust the time stamp on my posts? The time stamp on my reply here says 5:41 AM and in reality it's 11:52 PM as I type this. I asked this question separately on this site but no one ever replied.

Last edited by reteng; 12-15-2013 at 12:53 AM.
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 05:38 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by reteng View Post

Just as an example, I can find the same photo file in multiple places even though I only saved it to one place.

Ah ha. So it isn't just me thinking I'm loosing it, I don't remember saving that pic in 4 different folders.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 05:43 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by reteng View Post

Here is something that is unrelated and I can't find an answer to. How to I adjust the time stamp on my posts? The time stamp on my reply here says 5:41 AM and in reality it's 11:52 PM as I type this. I asked this question separately on this site but no one ever replied.
Click on User CP(its in the black bar under teh forum description bock. Then scroll down to Settings and Options. Click Edit Options. Then scroll down to Time Zone. And set it to your zone, and then save.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 06:39 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Click on User CP(its in the black bar under teh forum description bock. Then scroll down to Settings and Options. Click Edit Options. Then scroll down to Time Zone. And set it to your zone, and then save.
First I had trouble finding a black bar that had "User CP". I finally found it after I clicked on my user name. When I found though, it's in a light blue bar on my screen. But I found it

I remember setting that when I first came on site here the other day. Maybe I didn't hit "save"; I don't know!

Thanks.

Okay, I told myself "I just want to be like "beenthere" and I started searching settings and found the setting for "forum skin". Mine is like yours now!

Last edited by reteng; 12-15-2013 at 07:04 AM.
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 07:10 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Screen shot of where User CP is for easier access.
Attached Thumbnails
Question about "full data backup"-user-cp.jpg  
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 07:13 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Springfield Missouri area
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Question about "full data backup"


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Screen shot of where User CP is for easier access.
Okay, got it, thanks.

Your post brings up another question though. How do you do a screen shot and post it like you did?
reteng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 07:17 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Question about "full data backup"


I'm using Firefox. I right clicked the mouse. Then selected grab defined area. Copied it, and then pasted it in Paintshoppro, and did the edit and saved it. Then used attach image and uploaded it.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 02:48 PM
Plumbing for new shower kit question noviceshock Plumbing 6 03-02-2013 09:11 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts