Putting Virus Protect On While Infected - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2014, 05:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 855
Rewards Points: 526
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


I am not very literate when puters are concerned. I have tried numerous times to load both free and boughten and have been prevented always.

I downloaded or supposedly a bit ago,,,going now to see if its there and use able.

ANY advice is appreciated.

Advertisement

4just1don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:25 PM   #2
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 4,027
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Go to C-Net and download free Avast or free AVG. Both are very good.
http://download.cnet.com/AVG-AntiVir...-10320142.html

Advertisement

__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:54 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Many viruses will prevent an antivirus from be loaded. You may have to manually clear the virus or reload your system.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 09:09 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Hi OP,

Once a virus has infected your computer it's really tough to install an antivirus. That's usually one of the first things they're designed to prevent for obvious reasons. Like Joed said you may just have to wipe your computer's hard-drive and start over, depending on the level of damage that's already done. What is your virus doing?
fixrupr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,156
Rewards Points: 650
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Old post but usually you can load in safe mode.
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
del schisler (08-19-2014)
Old 05-01-2014, 08:00 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Yea, old post....

But another suggestion if you have more than one computer....pull the drive from the infected computer and using a spare SATA or IDE connector in your good computer (that has virus protection), plug in the drive and access it as if it was a second drive. The virus protection should scan it first to find the offending issue. This may not solve the whole problem....but it's one way to get it fixed.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 02:53 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 182
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Yea, old post....

But another suggestion if you have more than one computer....pull the drive from the infected computer and using a spare SATA or IDE connector in your good computer (that has virus protection), plug in the drive and access it as if it was a second drive. The virus protection should scan it first to find the offending issue. This may not solve the whole problem....but it's one way to get it fixed.
+1. I've done this once myself, on a friend's computer, that turned out to have several different viruses--I was surprised the machine continued working as long as it did before it crashed
mgp roofing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 03:17 PM   #8
Briogaid Dearg
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 27
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Easiest thing to do is install a Hiren Boot CD and boot to it (minixp) and run AVG from it. Much more simple than pulling drives etc.

You can run mal/spyware from the CD too.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
originalhandy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 04:41 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Hiren can boot from a flash stick as well. That is how I have mine setup.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 12:58 PM   #10
Computer Nerd + DIY'er
 
OhmZoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


I would try to use the Kaspsersky Rescue Disk. You can burn the ISO to a USB drive or a DVD and boot from it. This will prevent Windows (and the virus) from loading before it can be cleaned. Once you run Kaspersky Rescue and clean off the drive, you should be able to load on a new AV program.

http://support.kaspersky.com/us/viruses/rescuedisk/

You can also check out MalwareBytes and SuperAntiSpyware, both have been helpful to me in the past.
OhmZoned is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OhmZoned For This Useful Post:
Deja-vue (08-26-2014)
Old 07-24-2014, 11:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


All good advice above but it really depends on what you use the computer for.

I make my living on my computer and I don't believe in virus protection because it doesn't really work that well.. Virus programs find viruses the same way police investigators use fingerprints to find bad guys.. If they don't already have the fingerprint on file, the virus slides right in and does its thing..

When I first got married a long long time ago in a galaxy far far away, my wife was arguing that her Kaspersky was the best.. She didn't understand that its only as good as the fingerprint database it has.. So I wrote a small code snippet and gave it to her and recorded all her keystroke to prove my point.

The best defense is not to run or open attachments on an important machine.



If your computer is just a toy for you than then just make a bootable disk with AV on it or put the drive in another computer and clean it.. Depending on what virus(es) you have, I'd say you chances of success is about 60% to 70%.. Some of those buggers are designed to hide a back up copy of themselves to reinstall..

If your computer is a money maker like mine, than I would suggest zeroing the drive with DBAN, then format, then reload everything from scratch.

Stop running executable files or opening things from unknown sources. Get a copy of firefox and load it up with NoScript, AdBlockPlus and DoNotTrackMe add-ons.. Dump your POP3 email if you have one and stick to a web based email like gmail where they can virus check everything you get.

And the most important rule to follow... ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR STUFF ON A REGULAR BASIS...
PaulBob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulBob For This Useful Post:
del schisler (07-25-2014)
Old 07-25-2014, 07:45 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 465
Rewards Points: 292
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4just1don View Post
I am not very literate when puters are concerned. I have tried numerous times to load both free and boughten and have been prevented always.

I downloaded or supposedly a bit ago,,,going now to see if its there and use able.

ANY advice is appreciated.
you may have to do the down load from safe-mode , do you know how to get their and do the down load, i bet the virus will not let you down load from a site how do you know you have a virus ?? need more info. avist or avg are free and work good also mallwarebytes is another good one , just do a google search for each one and it will take you to the site, most virus are removed from safe-mode but some can be removed from just window's , good luck
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 08:08 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Use a rescue CD. Try the AVG one.
Tzeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 12:39 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


Quote:
Originally Posted by originalhandy View Post
Easiest thing to do is install a Hiren Boot CD and boot to it (minixp) and run AVG from it. Much more simple than pulling drives etc.

You can run mal/spyware from the CD too.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
Agree. Hiren's is a life saver.
yipching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 12:13 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

putting virus protect on while infected


It might have been discussed before, but I am also a HUGE fan of Hitman, this is a cloud based program, so as long as you have access to the Internet you are going to have the latest data. It is also something that you can put on a USB flash drive.

Advertisement

Mucatinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody ever convert their swimming pool to a golf putting green? vsheetz General DIY Discussions 15 06-19-2011 11:09 AM
Building platform for indoor putting green jwolf02 Building & Construction 1 11-23-2010 09:32 PM
Drywall trouble when putting in can lights ritzambi Drywall & Plaster 12 05-19-2010 09:27 PM
putting in new service tracy Electrical 4 12-30-2008 11:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts