PC Will Not Boot - PC Repairs & Upgrades - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 01:10 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

PC will not boot


You said that you have substituted all the parts, but did you check that the power supply is producing both 5 and 12 volts.
If its only putting out 5 volts, the fans and lights will come on but without 12 volts it won't boot!
Recently my desktop wouldn't boot and it was the power supply! Cost me $20 for a new one!

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 04:46 PM   #17
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

PC will not boot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
You said that you have substituted all the parts, but did you check that the power supply is producing both 5 and 12 volts.
If its only putting out 5 volts, the fans and lights will come on but without 12 volts it won't boot!
Recently my desktop wouldn't boot and it was the power supply! Cost me $20 for a new one!
ive already put two pc's side by side and pirated on the "good" pc power supply to verify the PS was bad before purchasing a new one.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:32 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

PC will not boot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
You said that you have substituted all the parts, but did you check that the power supply is producing both 5 and 12 volts.
If its only putting out 5 volts, the fans and lights will come on but without 12 volts it won't boot!
Recently my desktop wouldn't boot and it was the power supply! Cost me $20 for a new one!
Tried a known good spare power supply. Same result. Nothing only fans.
Good call though.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to polarzak For This Useful Post:
bbo (09-04-2012)
Old 09-05-2012, 07:09 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 331
Rewards Points: 250
Default

PC will not boot


Quote:
Originally Posted by rugburn View Post
I'm going to side with most everyone and guess your MB is toast, but double-check that everything is seated properly and no dust / debris is present in any of the slots. I work on PC's quite frequently at work and am guilty of this more often than I'd like to admit.
Agreed. I had suggested bad capacitors as a possible cause as this is such a common problem and displays the issues he is seeing. I also do a lot of work on PC's both individual and businesses.

OP, I would suggest looking at this site as well...

www.badcaps.net

But, you can pick up a new MB or used one pretty cheaply instead.
Marty1Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:02 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

PC will not boot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty1Mc View Post

OP, I would suggest looking at this site as well...

www.badcaps.net

But, you can pick up a new MB or used one pretty cheaply instead.
Thanks for the site. Interesting, so I looked at my capacitors, and none display any of the signs of a dead one, (not to say one isn't dead) so I will wait until my new BIOS arrives. If it doesn't do the trick, I will go with "door number two" and pick up a used MB cheap. Thanks everyone for your help and suggestions.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:04 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 254
Default

PC will not boot


I received the new BIOS chip and still no luck. I have concluded, as most of you have , the MB is toast.
Thanks for everyone's input.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:20 AM   #22
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

PC will not boot


I had a similar situation, and I got an entire machine in good working order from craigslist for $50.00.
I'm using that machine still.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 08:45 PM   #23
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

PC will not boot


Newegg is also a good choice for MB's...my favoirte PC source.

Advertisement

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vent Pipe Boot handy man88 Roofing/Siding 19 05-14-2012 01:18 AM
Making End Boot Smaller unixb0y HVAC 1 09-21-2010 06:30 PM
cost to replace return boot and filter box..... BlueBSH HVAC 5 08-06-2010 08:50 AM
Attaching Flex duct to register boot avshockey HVAC 15 12-03-2008 08:07 PM
Install Register Boot in finished ceiling? rockyfan206 HVAC 1 03-06-2008 05:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts