Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2009, 02:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


I'm overclocking my computer, in case you don't know what that is, it is when you increase the clock rate of the processor, fsb or ram (many other things, but mainly those)

Anyways, I have a intel qx9650 (qx means the cpu has an unlocked multiplier)

Ive gotten it from 3ghz 1333mhz fsb to 3.6 ghz 1600 mhz fsb. Multiplier is the same. Temps arent the best though, 50-60c, but I'm going to change the core voltage (its on auto right now). I will try the lowest core voltage I can get stable. Then I will test for 24-48 hours at 100% load.

MEM is at its rated 1600mhz, though it can go to 2000, I dont have a qx9770 do I?

Air cooling btw, when I built I did not feel good about liquid inside a computer. Maybe I should go for liquid cooling.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 04:11 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Liquid cooling is the COOL way to go... and it works.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 04:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
Liquid cooling is the COOL way to go... and it works.

Yeah, when I first built this pc I did not think about ocing, now, I am thinking about watercooling! Realtemp gives me 50-54c and core temp gives me 45-49c.

Voltage at 1.25, instability at 1.22
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


I had to bump it up to 1.265v...was unstable. Turns out, real temp set the TJ max to 100c So I set it to the qx9650's 95c and I found out I run around 46c load.

Will run over night. I hope I can keep a 24/7 oc at 3.6ghz. I want to see if I got a performance boost.

Try prime 95 for testing, you don't even need to oc, its great to see if your processor is bad. Or try intel burn test.

Both freeware.

Tip: Dont use software to oc unless its a graphics card. Always use bios.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:12 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
I had to bump it up to 1.265v...was unstable. Turns out, real temp set the TJ max to 100c So I set it to the qx9650's 95c and I found out I run around 46c load.

Will run over night. I hope I can keep a 24/7 oc at 3.6ghz. I want to see if I got a performance boost.

Try prime 95 for testing, you don't even need to oc, its great to see if your processor is bad. Or try intel burn test.

Both freeware.
Boy that takes me back. I used to be a big time OCer. I haven't kept up in a few years. Have you looked into peltier junctions? They are a little pricey, but they can get to some really low temps. I robbed one out of an electric drink cooler and it worked great, though it pulled quite a few amps.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Boy that takes me back. I used to be a big time OCer. I haven't kept up in a few years. Have you looked into peltier junctions? They are a little pricey, but they can get to some really low temps. I robbed one out of an electric drink cooler and it worked great, though it pulled quite a few amps.

They do sell some peltier junctions that fit the lga 775 form factor. That would be a good idea...though cooling below ambient temps could be an issue with condensation.

I am getting some ok temps on air. Maybe I need to re seat my heatsink.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:27 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
They do sell some peltier junctions that fit the lga 775 form factor. That would be a good idea...though cooling below ambient temps could be an issue with condensation.

I am getting some ok temps on air. Maybe I need to re seat my heatsink.
I have heard that, but I never had a problem. Anyway, lapping the heatsink might get some results too.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I have heard that, but I never had a problem. Anyway, lapping the heatsink might get some results too.

Yeah, I should lap it sometime. Some people lap the cpu heat spreader...although I don't think I have the guts to do that.

So far...the cpu has held up. Temp sits at 46-50c.

With the TJ max at 100, temps did not seem right.

Nvidia tools give me bad results.

Hopefully with the ram at 1600 I can get more frames out of games. I don't see why some games fill my 4gb ram up.

Last edited by rgsgww; 03-23-2009 at 07:31 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:47 PM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Yeah, I should lap it sometime. Some people lap the cpu heat spreader...although I don't think I have the guts to do that.

So far...the cpu has held up. Temp sits at 46-50c.

With the TJ max at 100, temps did not seem right.

Nvidia tools give me bad results.

Hopefully with the ram at 1600 I can get more frames out of games. I don't see why some games fill my 4gb ram up.
I know that RAM has to be cooled as well. I once saw something about a guy that took some brass hex shaped 3/8" compression couplings and split the down the center, then cut slots into each half. He thermal pasted them to each RAM chip as radiator fins.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 08:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I know that RAM has to be cooled as well. I once saw something about a guy that took some brass hex shaped 3/8" compression couplings and split the down the center, then cut slots into each half. He thermal pasted them to each RAM chip as radiator fins.

Mine has a heatsink on it already (came from the manufacturer)

Its rated at 1600mhz and a 2000mhz overclock.

I might also oc my graphics card after this.

The cpu pulls a lot of current with an oc, but my psu can handle it. I probably have too much power available anyways.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 08:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Dang...unstable. After an hour and thirty minutes of testing, one core ended up with an error!

Pushed the voltage up to 1.27500. Will see how this does.

I really need to consider better cooling, or reseat my heatsink. It seems as if its doing a poor job.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 10:00 PM   #12
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Dang...unstable. After an hour and thirty minutes of testing, one core ended up with an error!

Pushed the voltage up to 1.27500. Will see how this does.

I really need to consider better cooling, or reseat my heatsink. It seems as if its doing a poor job.
Does your bios allow you to adjust the RAM voltage separate from the processor voltage? Sometimes, tweeking they need to be be different for a stable OC.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 07:23 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Does your bios allow you to adjust the RAM voltage separate from the processor voltage? Sometimes, tweeking they need to be be different for a stable OC.

Yeah it does. The ram is rated at 1.8v for 1600mhz. I am testing 1.285 cpu core voltage now, 1.27500 was unstable after 4 hours.

If 1.285 is not working, I will run memtest 86. I think the bios might be setting incorrect timings.

I also might get some sand paper and start lapping my heatsink. Most people lost 5-8c and when your overclocking, that can be a lot.

EDIT

Well one core failed at 1.28. Ran memtest for an hour and a half and no problems. So I am thinking the cpu just needs more juice. Problem I have is that it seems stable on "auto" but auto wont show the current voltage. My monitors give me the wrong voltage. So I need to slowly push the volts up until I reach a stable oc.

The qx9650 max vcore is 1.3625 I've pushed the vcore up to 1.28750, and still unstable. I will now try prime 95 on a different setting-one that uses the least ram.

Last edited by rgsgww; 03-24-2009 at 02:11 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


I'm testing at auto right now, which is 1.3 volts. I think I'm stable at this voltage.

The temps are not exact, the processor thermal sensors suck on these chips. Anyways, I've noticed high temp increase but after several minutes into the burn test, the temp stabilizes. I think the TIM conducts much better at high temps. I think I might re apply the TIM. The surface may not have been cleaned off as good since I had to RMA the mobo.

At that point I may do a lapping of the heat sink, but I think the surface may be good already.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:45 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Overclocking my rig.


Well, I've lapped my cpu and am looking into a better cooler. I also need new thermal pads because there is a gap between mobo heatsink and mosfets.


The computer
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis001-1.jpg

The tools
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis002-1.jpg

The flat surface
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis003-1.jpg

Processor (notice big stratch or whatever)
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis004-1.jpg

Heatsink
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis005-1.jpg

First started (220grit) notice concaveness
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/dis006-1.jpg

Finished 220 grit
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis007.jpg

Finished 400 grit
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis008.jpg

Finished 600grit
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis009.jpg

Finished 1500 grit
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis010.jpg

Cpu reflection
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis011.jpg

Heatsink done with 800 and 1500 because it was pretty much lapped already
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis012.jpg

I got into the mobo (evga 790i ultra sli) thermal paste, as you can see, it was very dry.
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis013.jpg
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis014.jpg

Scraped paint from SB heatsink
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis015.jpg

NB scraped
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis016.jpg

Vreg (as5 was removed after noticing sink wasn't in contact, I never tried to boot up thank god)
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...gww/dis017.jpg

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.