Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 01:59 PM   #1
Member
 
P Marage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


I have an external Hard Drive and an HD hub(connects hard drive to TV for movies)
My hard drive and hub run on the same power wattage, Is there a power adapter with 2 power outputs so I can eliminate the need for 2 outlets?

P Marage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,720
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


Are you referring to a power strip that plugs into a wall receptacle, into which you can plug multiple devices? If so, they are available at most hardwares and home centers, and for the devices that you mentioned, you should consider one with a built in surge protector. As for what you can plug into them, any that I have seen are rated, either by voltage and amps, or by watts, and for this purpose, voltage times amps equals watts, so if you need to, you should be able to get everything in the same unit of measure. As for the receptacle that you would then plug the power strip into, it will be limited to the size breaker or fuse that you have on that circuit, less any other devices already on the circuit, whether lights, television, or whatever. Not sure if I answered your question, but if not, please elaborate.

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 12:15 AM   #3
Member
 
P Marage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 51
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


No, Im talking about a power adapter not a power bar.
I have attached a picture you will recognize Thanx though DexterII
Attached Images
 
P Marage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 12:18 AM   #4
Member
 
P Marage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 51
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


I want to be able to use one plugin to power both Hard drive and HiDef HUB so to keep the rats nest of chords to a minimum.
One adapter with 2 power chords coming out of it
P Marage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 09:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


I have never seen one personally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by P Marage View Post
I want to be able to use one plugin to power both Hard drive and HiDef HUB so to keep the rats nest of chords to a minimum.
One adapter with 2 power chords coming out of it
ErikU19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:43 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 411
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by P Marage View Post
I want to be able to use one plugin to power both Hard drive and HiDef HUB so to keep the rats nest of chords to a minimum.
One adapter with 2 power chords coming out of it
I doubt that they make one. The MA that the draw from it would be to much . They are small. What you could do is see what the MA draw for both would be than if it is in or under the MA draw you could strip back the wire and hook another one on their. But make sure that you match up the wire's or pos to pos Neg to Neg . This would work if the draw is under the MA. I been in repair for 50 yrs and lot's of make up items. Good luck
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

One plug in 2 outputs?


The more load that is placed on the power module, the lower the voltage goes.
The lower voltage may have an ill effect on the h/d electronics.
Just to tidy up cords wouldn't justify the risk of damaging your gear.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 07:48 AM
Replacement plug for an old box freezer brich Electrical 1 05-11-2010 06:44 AM
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 09:03 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.