Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 07:43 PM   #1
Fixer upper guy
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

New DVD burner


So I am installing a new DVD burner. I have an old DVD player installed that uses an IDE ribbon cable. The new DVD burner is SATA. My mother board is capable of supporting IDE drives as well as SATA drives. My question is will I have any conflicts if I am running 1 IDE DVD player, and 1 SATA DVD burner?

In theory both will work correct?

teg916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 07:56 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

New DVD burner


I don't see any problems, it's made to use either/or. Po) (separate slots, right?)
If it blows up, blame the next guy to post for being too slow to correct me. LOL

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 05:53 AM   #3
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,161
Default

New DVD burner


You may have problems. It depends on how the SATA chipset and the BIOS of the the mobo handle the connection. I have an old Dell Dimension 8300 with both types of connections but if you want to use SATA then your boot drive has to be on one of the SATA controllers. Trying to attach anything else with your boot drive still on an IDE controller causes all kinds of problems. What is you computer make/model?
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:02 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

New DVD burner


Good point, I was assuming the HDD was on SATA. If so, there SHOULDN'T be problems.... but... you never know.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:17 AM   #5
Fixer upper guy
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 15
Default

New DVD burner


It's a homebuilt computer. The motherboard is an Abit KN9. The hard drive is SATA.
teg916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:51 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

New DVD burner


Abit's a good board, and since the HDD is SATA, I don't think you'll have any problems (on different sockets)

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor heater repair help speakers3 HVAC 14 08-18-2013 02:52 PM
furnace burner problem brent h HVAC 2 01-11-2010 07:50 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
Broken Burner Fix mikelbeck HVAC 2 01-16-2009 09:05 PM
Question about gas burner design darsunt HVAC 4 12-14-2008 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.