Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 09:19 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

To my computer geeks


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
it just jerks along... until I move the mouse, then it picks right up. If I keep the mouse in continuous motion, it works great. But when I stop, it goes back to the jerky motion.
You seem to be saying that the s/w requires a continuous input in order to stay on track. I can't imagine a programming code error that would give this result.

Try other ways to induce and/or eliminate the symptom. See if the keyboard affects the symptom.

You could also search the Web using the name of your program; there might be TSBs out on this problem.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 09:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


Whats the name of the program? I should have plenty of time after school to look it up, I have to wait on this darn prime 95 cpu test.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:11 PM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Smile

To my computer geeks


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I know I could ask this question on alot of computer forums, but I'd be hard pressed to get an answer anytime soon. I know alot of the regulars that post here are computer geeks to one degree or another, and I have a question.

I built a CNC mill to make circuit boards and small machine parts and whatnot. Very cool. Anyway, it works great mechanically and under the control of certain software, but when I use the control software I really want to use, it just jerks along... until I move the mouse, then it picks right up. If I keep the mouse in continuous motion, it works great. But when I stop, it goes back to the jerky motion.

For some background, the machine receives its signal pulses from the parallel port on pins 1-9 and 14,16, and 17. The mouse is a PS/2 optical. What the hell is causing this behavior and how do I correct it? It's driving me batty! I have tried adjusting the mouse and LPT port resource options to no avail.

What next?

EDIT: Sorry I didn't realize we had a PC forum. To any mod: please move accordingly.

HI;

List of things to try, my guesses anyway

1: Open task manage, go to processes, find the app in question, right click it and move it's priority status up to real time.

2: Not high on my list of things to try, but possiable; Memory could be an issue, once in a great great while there are bad dimms, bad dimms do weird things, (and it is often not obvious they are the cause of a problem, and it is virtually impossible to really fully test memory without a dedicated hardware tester) I generally get all my memory from www.datamem.com I normally get the certified memory for just a couple bucks more. Been buying from them since 93, never a hassle.

3: Run msconfig.exe and disable everything in your startup tab, unless there is something in there critical to running this ap. Also look in the services tab and disable anything that maybe unnecessary.

4: Find a different mouse driver on the net and load it and see if it makes any difference.

Try 1 & 3 First...

One more, Turn off hardware acceleration on your graphics card, and also can try droping the screen resloution down and reducing the number of colors displayed.

Good Luck...

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:19 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


By the way, you should try memtest86 to test your memory and use something like prime 95 or software provided by your processor manufacturer to stress your cpu. This will rule out bad memory and cpu.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 06:53 AM   #20
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


wow.... it wouldn't even run the mousemover??? that should tell us something too.....
not sure what at this point, but something! hmmmmm.... this is a good mystery!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 07:04 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


When testing memory, try stick by stick. Each stick is different than others.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 10:44 PM   #22
weekend warrior
 
Hobb3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


What is the software that you're having problems with, what architecture was it built for? I know in the past on older system we've actually had to fool the older program into thinking the machines processor was slower than it was because there were no limiters built into the program. In this case it may be that the program is attempting to communicate through the parallel port faster than the the port can handle. I had this issue with reprogramming of eproms via a parallel connection.
Hobb3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 06:51 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

To my computer geeks


i wonder if you used a parallel to usb convertor and ran it through the usb port if this would help ?

http://www.emtcompany.com/catagories...FRo-awodLiG1Nw

stephen44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run 4-6 small computer fans off of one switch? TylerPlumb Electrical 7 05-09-2008 10:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.