Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 10:18 AM   #1
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,725
Rewards Points: 2,450
Default

Malwarebytes


Is this program worth paying for? Is there something better out there for the 25 bucks?

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:38 AM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Malwarebytes


I would go the free version....

I've used it.....another decent option is Spybot Search and Destroy...

I'm also happy with Advanced System Care......

And talking to an IT guy over the weekend....he said that the MS free prodoct is as good as any of the paid products....

Just stay away from Norton....it convalutes your system too much.

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:50 AM   #3
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Malwarebytes


I second the mse

i've also used the free versions of malwarebytes and spybot.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,725
Rewards Points: 2,450
Default

Malwarebytes


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I would go the free version....

I've used it.....another decent option is Spybot Search and Destroy...

I'm also happy with Advanced System Care......
I have (or had) MWB but today it popped up saying "trial expired"... Pay me Now...

I also have Advance SC and Avast. Forgot about Spybot.

I have no problem paying if I need it but certainly don't want to if I don't.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,680
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Malwarebytes


"MBAM" works - pretty well.
If you're getting the pay or else.
Uninstall it and go to their website and download the free version.
One of the major diffs. between the "pay" version and the "free" -
"free" - no automatic updates - you'll have to do manual updates/upgrades.
I've got the free version (of course it wants me to upgrade and pay) -
As long as you manually update.
Maybe, every other day.
rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:43 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Malwarebytes


malwarebytes free is good, so is Emsisoft. Avast.com has free antivirus, as does AVG.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,680
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Malwarebytes


Yeah - "Emisoft" has got good stuff.
"Super Anti Spyware" ain't bad.
"Avast" is good -
Some problems with "AVG" - used to be pretty, good - some people
say - problems.
Just what I've heard on the Internet.
Take for what it's worth!
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:17 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Malwarebytes


One important point....

Your protection really consists of 3 layers....

1. Firewall - This is the OS and is what keeps hackers from getting into your computer directly.

2. Email Filtering - Blocking the crap before it gets in your inbox....Outlook is one of the best email programs....

3. On access scanning - Good virus programs will access any new file you attempt to access before you open it up and trash your system.

Some of the above programs being talked about fall in the 3rd catagory. They catch problems after the fact.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (11-02-2012)
Old 11-02-2012, 09:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Malwarebytes


Avast and Avira both work but slow down every computer I have used them on. Malwarebytes free is a perfect program. I also use Microsoft Security Essentials which is also free. Between the two I have had no issues or problems.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:28 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,680
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Malwarebytes


Although it is usually considered a good idea to have some type of
"Anti-malware" program running "live" on your computer.
There are limitations.
This from the "MBAM" newsletter -

{http://blog.malwarebytes.org/intelligence/2012/10/timely-detection-the-key-to-a-good-anti-malware-solution}

(Brackets added by myself)

rossfingal

Just thought I'd add -
The "MBAM" newsletter appeared in my "Inbox" as spam???

Last edited by rossfingal; 11-03-2012 at 07:40 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:23 PM   #11
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,600
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Malwarebytes


I use to have Advanced System Care on my pc but when I did an update it fouled up my pc so I removed it.

I am using Avast right now, is there another good anti-virus out there that won't mess up an ole pc.

Another problem I am having right now and is driving me crazy (I know that is a putt not a drive) is in Yahoo mail, we have our spam filter set to delete all spam immediately but when we check there are sometimes 20 spam several times a day. When I delete the spam and try to get out of Yahoo my pc freezes up and I have to manually turn it off. Any suggestions
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,680
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Malwarebytes


Negative on "Advanced Sys. C."

As far as "Anti-virus" - "Free" programs go.
If you're having problems with "Avast" and you have an older computer -
Try "Clam-Win" - it's free.
You can still have "Avast" on your computer; and run "Clam-Win" -
you shouldn't run 2 anti-virus programs live - "real-time" monitoring!

As far as Yahoo and spam filters go -
you might have the spam-filter set a little too "high".
When you say you have to "shut it down" -
do you mean Yahoo or the computer itself?

"RF"
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:24 PM   #13
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 702
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Malwarebytes


Good thread, I use mse for live time detection. Works fine.
malwarebytes is a good program, but only use it when you think you need it.
Download it and update it, decline the free trial of pro version.
And when needed, just boot in safe mode and run it.
Point is, malwarebytes is not something you run real time, it is a tool you break out and use when needed. Not a tool you have start every time you boot your pc.

I use mse for real time protection, in my tool box is
ccleaner
malwarebytes
combofix
spybot search and destroy

I run mse all the time, just break out the tools when something is broke.
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to funfool For This Useful Post:
BigJim (11-03-2012)
Old 11-03-2012, 05:04 PM   #14
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,600
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Malwarebytes


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
Negative on "Advanced Sys. C."

As far as "Anti-virus" - "Free" programs go.
If you're having problems with "Avast" and you have an older computer -
Try "Clam-Win" - it's free.
You can still have "Avast" on your computer; and run "Clam-Win" -
you shouldn't run 2 anti-virus programs live - "real-time" monitoring!

As far as Yahoo and spam filters go -
you might have the spam-filter set a little too "high".
When you say you have to "shut it down" -
do you mean Yahoo or the computer itself?

"RF"

Rossi, when I delete all the spam, I try to go to my home page when I do the computer totally freezes, I can't do anything but manually turn the computer off. I clean all the junk off a few times each day. I have done restores and everything I can think of and nothing works. I have another tower here that I may try after while.

Oh, I have the spam settings to delete all spam immediately but it don't delete any of it.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim

Last edited by BigJim; 11-03-2012 at 05:07 PM. Reason: Forgot something
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:33 PM   #15
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 702
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Malwarebytes


Can you start your pc in safe mode? usually hitting f8 while it is booting.
choose safemode with networking, then go to download malwarebytes and update it and then run it in safe mode on your pc.

__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.