Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2014, 07:38 PM   #1

Send a message via Skype™ to Maverick Wolfe
Share |

How To Swap your Desktop CPU: A simple guide for all

Hello everybody, For those of you that have read my posts thank you for doing so, I have been on the forum a while now and I really love it here. My name is Maverick, and I am posting a guide today for everybody so they may understand and know how to in general replace their CPU, this guide may also be used for laptops but I highly recommend you look online for a disassembly guide for a laptop if you even dare attempt to do it with one. I am a professional and an enthusiast and have been doing this for many years, Please enjoy my guide.

List of tools you will need:

1.PH1 Screwdriver of any sort you may use an electric screwdriver, but a ratcheting one or socket ratchet is best.

2. Your hands--And obvious one but very important. :D

3. Sterile Nitrate Gloves for your hands--This is so when you are "installing" your thermal paste you do not get any on your hands as most pastes stain or are hard to get off.

4. Static Wrist strap(WARNING: DO NOT DO THIS WITHOUT ONE UNLESS YOU ARE AT A BENCH WITH GROUNDING OR KNOW HOW TO HANDLE PARTS WITHOUT THE RISK OF ELECTROSTATIC DISCHARGE!)

5. Needle Nose pliers---These come in handy for grabbing screws if they fall into a place you can't reach with your fingers and are simple as well as not too expensive, It is best to have a set of Curved and Straight needle nose on hand.