Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2009, 03:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

fan on comp


ok so here it is my computer once in awhile starts t make a load noise i discovered it is one of the fans. all i have to do is tap on it and it goes away. should i replace the fan or what should i do will it harm thr computer if i dont replace it.
chefjb98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:04 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

fan on comp


there are numerous fans on any given machine, which fan makes the noise? power supply? cpu? *other*?
any of them can and should be replaced if the bearings are going out. it will harm the machine by overheating whatever component is being cooled.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

fan on comp


Could be a loose screw, or a bearing going
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

fan on comp


this is not helping but anyway, they installed a brand new computer in work shop at work, from day one, I can hear the fan making vibration noise, I haven't tapped it for a long time now, been a year or so and no problems. I guess if it was my personal one at home, I'd take it apart to get a better look.
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:15 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

fan on comp


loose screw? maybe, or it could be the flimmerstat chip on the mitterboard fried the flandular connection at the crapacitor...?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:04 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

fan on comp


Could be a loose screw but also check the loose wires, I had a wire that would rub the fan blades every now and again.

Lilith785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 07:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

fan on comp


Could be the case...which fan is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
loose screw? maybe, or it could be the flimmerstat chip on the mitterboard fried the flandular connection at the crapacitor...?

DM
flimmerstat's can go pretty fast when overclocking. Ususally the voltage is increased at the tranducer's rectifier when the fsb is increased. This pushes high voltage into the crapacitor. This is upwards of 50 amps depending on your 12v psu rail. The flandular connection will melt and the crapacitor will leak.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 07:46 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

fan on comp


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
flimmerstat's can go pretty fast when overclocking. Usually the voltage is increased at the tranducer's rectifier when the fsb is increased. This pushes high voltage into the crapacitor. This is upwards of 50 amps depending on your 12v psu rail. The flandular connection will melt and the crapacitor will leak.
absolutely correct!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp shingle recommendations needed Arndavis Roofing/Siding 7 06-07-2008 09:01 PM
Roofing, Labor only ???? olie Roofing/Siding 33 11-06-2007 11:31 AM
Staples with comp. shingles? scarrell Roofing/Siding 9 04-23-2006 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.