Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 06:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 777
Share |
Default

DNS Server Question


I am running Windows 7 and using Cogeco cable. I was unable to reach a particular web-site last nite. This has happened before. When I ran the Windows diagnostics, it came back with "your DNS server may be unavailable". My attempt to ping the web-site seemed to show good status. My system was set to "Obtain DNS server automatically". I changed that to use Cogeco's DNS server as primary, and Googles DNS server as alternate. I re-booted my computer, and then I was able to reach the web site. But I really don't understand what is going on here. If I check off "obtain DNS server automatically", what DNS server is it using ? Should a computer normally be set to "obtain automatically", or to specified DNS server ?

SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:44 AM   #2
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,197
Default

DNS Server Question


Automatic vs. specified depends on what you want. Typically automatic will be assigned to you by the DHCP server (your ISP) to use their DNS. If the server they tell you to use is not working, you will have some issues. Another time you could want to use a specified DNS, is like your Google example. You may choose to use a better/faster/more-available server than what your ISP would typically assign. Here's another example of when you might specify. Comcast. I have Comcast business class internet for work uses. There are a different set of DNS servers used by that than what DNS servers are specified for Comcast home use. I can set my DNS at home to use the Comcast Business DNS servers, which are less busy than the home DNS servers. Though, now I use Google DNS for just about everything (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4).

hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:19 AM   #3
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Default

DNS Server Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS-1 View Post
I was unable to reach a particular web-site last nite. This has happened before.
In a nutshell, if this has happened before then your provider's DNS service is unreliable. You're perfectly fine setting your own choice of DNS server. Using your provider's may offer advantages in terms of speed (it's right there on your network) but if it's not performing well by all means change it permanently.
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 10:10 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 777
Default

DNS Server Question


Thanks. I think I understand it better now. 8.8.8.8 is the DNS server I have as alternate.
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Default

DNS Server Question


In addition to what others have said, at work I have a firewall set up, and one of the functions it performs is DNS cache. So all the PCs on our network are specified to look to the firewall for DNS. It keeps a cache of frequently used numbers, so it can speed things up.

Thanks for the tip about Google, I think I might set the firewall to look there. That's a nice advantage of the firewall -- only one place to make a change. It's called ipcop -- it's an opensource linux product that runs on an old PC.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

DNS Server Question


I listen to Steve Gibson and Leo Laporte on Security Now podcast.

Steve provides this interesting tool:

http://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.