Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 08:11 PM   #1
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,237
Share |
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


I've got it, Desktop Security 2010, and cannot get rid of it. I've tried eleven (11) methods I found on the Internet to remove this Malware to no avail. It comes back each time I start my laptop up again. This is the most darn aggravating Malware I've ever seen on a computer. "Webroot AntiVirus with SpyWare, Super AntiSpyWare, and Malware's Anti-Malware" do not touch it. I found one program, "rkill.com", which will catch it and prevent it from running to use the computer but will not remove it. Has anyone else had this Malware attack and found a way to remove it? Thanks, David

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


Have you tried Avast? www.avast.com
Kaspersky?

You can set avast to do an initial dos scan at reboot.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:41 PM   #3
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


My son got malware called system defender. Very anoying.
I used the system restore to a week before and that worked.
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:57 PM   #4
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,237
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


"Desktop Security 2010" is the new version of "System Defender", according to what I've found out. "Desktop Security 2010" will not allow you to use System Restore. It will tell you there is no restore point nor allow you to set one, I've tried. I have not tried www.avast.com YET! Believe me I will if the three I have written down (now four) do not work in the A.M. I'm tired of fighting this thing tonight. Post results tomorrow, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 01:34 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


If it is something new you may need to run your anti-malware programs every day for a while until they catch up. Be sure to do an update every time before running them. I have a client that picked up some malware and it took a week of running Malwarebytes, AVG, and Trend Micro's Housecall every day before it was completely gone. Good Luck.
Caromsoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 10:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,715
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


They guys at my local computer store swear by Malwarebytes.com. I have the free version which worked well but need to upgrade to the paid version in order to get definition updates. That will be my next move since I also have the annyoyng pest.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 05:56 AM   #7
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,159
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


You don't pay for Malwarebytes to get definition updates. Updates are completely free. You only have to pay if you want to enable real time shields, meaning MBAM will run in the background at all times and catch things as they happen instead of needing to execute a manual scan.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 04:02 PM   #8
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,237
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


Well, come to find out-there is, no was, a program called www.rkill.com which would stop the process of "Desktop Security 2010" from running so you could at least use your computer. "rkill" would not remove the Malware, just stop the process from running temporarily. Then "DS 2010" got smarter and would not let "rkill" do it's thing. Finally, today Friday, there was an updated version of "MalWarebytes" which did find and remove this Malware--hopefully and so far. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


I've used regedit to go in & find & get rid of stuff like this in the past
Then after regedit use some of the spyware utilities to fully remove
This stuff gets worse all the time
They download little re-install links
So you remove it, reboot....& it re-installs itself
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,715
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


Quote:
Originally Posted by poppameth View Post
You don't pay for Malwarebytes to get definition updates. Updates are completely free. You only have to pay if you want to enable real time shields, meaning MBAM will run in the background at all times and catch things as they happen instead of needing to execute a manual scan.
Something must be quirky with my version of it then because it won't let me update. Thanks for the info though. That saves me from an unnecessary subscription purchase.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 09:25 PM   #11
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,159
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


I ran into an issue once where MBAM wouldn't run an update correctly. I had to download and install the newest version over top the existing one and it started updating fine after that.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to poppameth For This Useful Post:
Jim F (04-26-2010)
Old 04-24-2010, 12:54 PM   #12
MXer
 
3 legged dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South West Coast
Posts: 128
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


I put Microsoft security essentials in my kids computers and have not had
a problem since.(Knocking on wood). Its free, updates itself, and seems to work.
3 legged dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 05:47 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville
Posts: 455
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


use a live-boot linux CD and nuke away. there are a couple roms specifically for AV issues. give me a bit and i'll try to find some.

http://lifehacker.com/5492593/use-li...es-for-viruses

http://lifehacker.com/5504531/the-co...-a-thumb-drive

Last edited by cellophane; 04-24-2010 at 05:51 PM.
cellophane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:44 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


system restore will fix it with minimal effort.

I would suggest using Firefox with AdBlock and NoScript addons, will prevent this and many other problems.
chenzarino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 07:54 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

Desktop Security 2010 Malware


my sister's puter has the anti virus GT, she had avast running, still got it,, ran malwarebytes, got rid of 14 infected files, restarted, still has the virus, my son is going to reformat the computer this weekend, at a loss to get rid of the virus.

__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Security, need advice spider10382 General DIY Discussions 17 04-19-2010 09:50 PM
Security Storm Windows lgleasain General DIY Discussions 0 11-08-2009 03:05 PM
Egress Security Issues Loudpipe General DIY Discussions 20 10-03-2009 02:58 PM
Rigid Desktop Support Ideas? emckinlay Carpentry 7 04-28-2009 10:30 AM
The Security Guy TheSecurityGuy Introductions 3 09-29-2008 10:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.