Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 05:54 AM   #16
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,488
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Conduit Bug


Jim...I had the same bug last week....I'm used to dealing with it....my MIL seems to get it about once every 2 months.

It's basically a channeling bug....it tries to send you through it's search engine so that you see only web sites that are paying for the service.

The removal is twofold....delete the program as you would any other program...and then remove any browser settings that reference it. If your browser has one of it's links...then when you follow it....you get the crap back.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (03-10-2014)
Old 03-10-2014, 08:20 AM   #17
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,548
Rewards Points: 2,282
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Conduit Bug


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Jim...I had the same bug last week....I'm used to dealing with it....my MIL seems to get it about once every 2 months.

It's basically a channeling bug....it tries to send you through it's search engine so that you see only web sites that are paying for the service.

The removal is twofold....delete the program as you would any other program...and then remove any browser settings that reference it. If your browser has one of it's links...then when you follow it....you get the crap back.
Yep, that's the one, I had to rename two files in my registry. If you follow the link Dan posted it will be gone. The bad part is Judy's and my computers are on the same account and so is the little ChromeBook our grandson gave us, so it just kept going in circles. I deleted Chrome and Firefox twice. Next time I will be a little more confident in getting it gone.

That hijacker not only sends you to the places it wants you to go, it can steal your ID and all your info. Makes me wonder why Google allows that to happen.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:49 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Conduit Bug


On some free downloads. they have a small box clicked on the accept screen. And if you don't look real close, your agreeing to download and install some crap you don't want.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
cyberknight (03-10-2014), PaliBob (03-10-2014)
Old 03-10-2014, 05:22 PM   #19
Ole Wood Worker
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,548
Rewards Points: 2,282
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Conduit Bug


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
On some free downloads. they have a small box clicked on the accept screen. And if you don't look real close, your agreeing to download and install some crap you don't want.
BT, I can look back and know exactly what I did wrong. I don't know why they make it so hard to find which is the right download button to hit. They try everything they can to deceive a person into downloading something they don't want. I hit the wrong download and it loaded that garbage instead of what I wanted. They can keep their free card games, I won't be downloading anything free.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:31 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Conduit Bug


If they made it easy to see. Then that crap would hardly ever get down loaded, and they would lose money.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
BigJim (03-10-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit questions powertoolguy Electrical 4 08-28-2013 06:30 AM
Using 2" PVC electrical conduit RonLNY Electrical 7 01-06-2013 10:34 PM
Total Degrees of Bend in Underground PVC Conduit tedallen Electrical 12 03-29-2012 08:02 PM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 01:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.