Computer Cable Modem/router - PC Repairs & Upgrades - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 04:42 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6burgh View Post
Piste- Do you know if your laptop has a "G" wireless network card? If it is older it may be a "B" wireless card which top out 11Mbps in theory.
Hey 6! We might be neighbors! Now live in the North Hills ..but am native of visitors' hometown in Sunday night game!

Anyway...I have three computers at home...a work laptop, my wife's laptop and a desktop. All three are at least G and some are N...

But thanks for the suggestion.

Advertisement

piste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 04:48 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer cable modem/router


robut-

I also use and recommend older WRT54G routers off ebay because they have more memory to run the previously mentioned tomato/DD-WRT firmware. They are alot cheaper on ebay and work just as good as brand new "G" routers. Here is a good site to fiugre out which version is best to get. Newer ones only have 8MB of RAM. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linksys_WRT54G_series

I am on Comcast myself and use their modem. It does cost more but if it breaks or I want a new one I can get it.

I also recommend ACER extensa laptops off ebay if you want a dual core and is dependable. It isn't the newest but has alot of RAM, they usually have 100 GB drive, around a 1.9 AMD dual core processor, 14.1 screen, S video output . Extensa 4420 is a good lappy. They have great bright screens. The 5420 is good also ( 15" screen) but the hinges are a weak point on that model. You can usually find them for $150. They now running around $200 because of Christmas. I buy alot of them with broken power jacks, fix them and sell them and people are always happy with them.

Last edited by 6burgh; 11-12-2010 at 05:05 PM.
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 05:01 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by piste View Post
Hey 6! We might be neighbors! Now live in the North Hills ..but am native of visitors' hometown in Sunday night game!

Anyway...I have three computers at home...a work laptop, my wife's laptop and a desktop. All three are at least G and some are N...

But thanks for the suggestion.
I live in Chambersburg south central PA. Boo for where you come from!!!!

Ok sorry. If you already posted that I overlooked it.I cant think of anything else besides trying another router.
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 07:00 AM   #19
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Note that the WRT54G and the WRT54GL are different. The GL is still available new from a ton of vendors. The L stands for Linux. This unit is basically the older version of the WRT54G. It still has Linux firmware and 16MB of RAM.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 08:24 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Piste- have you checked your wireless settings? Have you tried resetting the router?
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 09:45 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Via Comcast
I just tested my Hp desk top using " www.speedtest.net " and this is my results

Down load 1.44mbps
upload 0.37mbps
deck hand
deck hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 09:51 PM   #22
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Computer cable modem/router


comcast, older Dell, Teryon modem (supplied by Comcast), Linksys WRT54G router wired connection

24.7 Mbps down
1.64 Mbps up
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 10:36 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
comcast, older Dell, Teryon modem (supplied by Comcast), Linksys WRT54G router wired connection

24.7 Mbps down
1.64 Mbps up
That's some pretty good speed...you must have their highest level service. Where I'm at on my situation is this....I have learned that wireless G is nowhere near 54mbps on a practical level. In fact...in my case...it can't even really keep up with my 16mbps subscribed speed. Further, internet speed on a wireless network decreases with lower signal ie. distance from the router. Naturally....things like composition and layout of one's house and location of the wireless router play a big part in the degree to which the speed drop occurs. I could up my Comcast level from 16 to 22mbps for another $10 a month...but I'm thinking I'd be better off first upgrading to a Linksys dual band N router for a one time fee of about $150...thereby getting better leverage out of my current monthly ISP fee...ie. I might actually get closer to a full 16mbps and at greater distance from the router. The only other idea I have is to try a different channel on the router....currently set at "6-2.437 GHZ" where 6 is just the 6th choice in a list. Or...I might try and relocate the router in my house to get a better overall signal profile throughout the house.
piste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 06:52 AM   #24
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Computer cable modem/router


I have the 16 Mbps service and routinely get over 20Mbps using the same speed test. It's because of Powerboost. They spike your speed at the start of a download but on extended downloads it drops back to what you are paying for or less. It's very difficult to get an accurate speed rating on Comcast due to this.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 09:16 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by poppameth View Post
I have the 16 Mbps service and routinely get over 20Mbps using the same speed test. It's because of Powerboost. They spike your speed at the start of a download but on extended downloads it drops back to what you are paying for or less. It's very difficult to get an accurate speed rating on Comcast due to this.
Are you using wireless? Does your speed decrease with distance from the router? My premise is that it does for everyone ....to some degree.
piste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 09:37 AM   #26
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Here is my personal setup. I am an I.T. professional by trade, but also a cheap-o in my personal life. I spend money when it matters, but typically pay as little as possible to get the job done.

  • I have Comcast 20Mbps service, with their provided cable modem @ $5.00 per month.
  • That ties into a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 router. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833162134
  • From there, my desktop is attached via a wired connection.
  • Wireless is used to stream to my HTPC hooked up to my 50" Samsung TV. This computer also stores all my movies.
  • Wireless is used to stream to a laptop connected to a 32" Vizio TV in the bedroom. I can watch movies from the HTPC on this computer/TV without issue.
  • Wireless is used for my laptop and my wife's laptop (work provided) for internet surfing.

I used to have a D-link wireless-G router that was fine for surfing, but the connection would get laggy for streaming from the internet. I don't use Netflix, but do use Hulu, which would be similar. Once I got that new Buffalo router - everything was fine. In fact, I started running CAT-5 from my office to the room with the HTPC, but never hooked it up because the new router took care of the problem.

I was debating between the linksys router and that Buffalo - they are similarly rated but I liked the reviews and open-source firmware of the Buffalo, which is why I went in that direction.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 11:00 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by deck hand View Post
Via Comcast
I just tested my Hp desk top using " www.speedtest.net " and this is my results

Down load 1.44mbps ugh!!
upload 0.37mbps What the hey!
deck hand

11/18/2010
I just checked my modem it is a Motorola SB4220 Surfboard.

Next: I have an older Airlink wireless router super " G " AR430 W
Given to me by my son many years ago.
I'm going to purchase an apple laptop as a gift from my
kids.Will this router be ok to stream movies to my TV ?

Now as for this Modem I called comcast and told them how old my modem is, I guessed around 8 to 10 years, they will send me a newer modem.
deck hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 07:37 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer cable modem/router




I have the 12mbps service.
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 10:12 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Computer cable modem/router


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6burgh View Post


I have the 12mbps service.
Yeah...when you run it you have to pay attention as it is testing each component..up...down etc....you should see it hover for most of each component test right around what would be your typical speed...then it may spike and record that instead. On my wife's laptop I've gotten spikes of like 90 something Mb/s...but it usually hovers in the teens..with my 16 mbps service.
piste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:05 AM   #30
Citrix & Cisco Ops
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Computer cable modem/router


I hate to rain on the speedtest parade, but 2 items:

1. Most ISPs blatantly prioritize traffic from those hosts to give you the impression that you're getting the bandwidth you're paying for.

2. Connection speed to one host is not reflective of anything except the circumstances it presents: Continuous interaction with one remote host, using a few select protocols. This is useful for gamers perhaps, but does it reflect the performance you'll get from general web browsing? Absolutely not.

Advertisement


Last edited by RedHelix; 11-19-2010 at 11:14 AM.
RedHelix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 09:21 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 09:39 AM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 10:10 AM
Coaxial Cable blew tv, computer etc... ozflow Electrical 4 10-13-2008 08:06 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts