Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2010, 02:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Share |
Default

Computer button battery


For the last three days I have had to reset my computer time and date
It will always go's back to I guess the manf. date 2001.
I'm sure this is caused by the computer battery in side the case ?

If you agree I will collect my tools and see if I can do this right ?

Any other ideas ?
Robut
robut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 02:39 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Computer button battery


If it IS the battery, be sure you don't go to a computer store to buy a new one.... they charge $14.00 at a place here for the same battery you can get at the office supply chain store for $2.00.....
Just pull the one you have and take it with you to match the #s.

Usually, no tools are necessary for a MB battery once you open the case.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
robut (12-02-2010)
Old 12-02-2010, 02:52 PM   #3
Citrix & Cisco Ops
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 87
Default

Computer button battery


Yep, probably just the CMOS battery.

Easy replacement. You can spot the battery a mile away on any given motherboard; just depress the metal tab and the battery pops right out.
RedHelix is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RedHelix For This Useful Post:
robut (12-02-2010)
Old 12-04-2010, 09:11 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 59
Default

Computer button battery


Yep !!
It took about five min. to change and best of all I had one on hand.

Thanks

Robut
robut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:30 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Computer button battery


Good deal.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Computer button battery


Not all computers use the 'button' battery. Some use batterys that have leads and a connector at the end.
These ones are not likely to be found at an office supply store.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:51 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Computer button battery


I have only seen those on antique MBs though.... not any newer ones.
Not to say they don't still use them though.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

Computer button battery


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
I have only seen those on antique MBs though.... not any newer ones.
Not to say they don't still use them though.

DM
They aren't common, I admit. The last one that I did see was in a Sony laptop.
I'm working on a HP laptop right now, and it uses a buttton battery.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

Computer button battery


It's almost always a CR2032 lithium cell.
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APC Battery Backup - Extending Run Time with BIG Battery Bank homerb PC Repairs & Upgrades 31 05-03-2012 05:40 PM
Smoke Alarms Just Would Not Stop lundyg Electrical 2 12-30-2009 08:09 AM
Old UPS to car battery? pcampbell Electrical 8 01-20-2009 05:34 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.