Computer Build! - PC Repairs & Upgrades - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2014, 08:12 PM   #46
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Computer Build!


I just received a shipping conformation on one item I ordered. An anti static wrist strap, price...$1.84 with free shipping.

The seller is located in Hong Kong, the item is being shipped via Hong Kong Post and will arrive between 8/25 and 9/12.

How can anyone make any money on that?

Advertisement

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 08:21 PM   #47
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,670
Rewards Points: 2,646
Default

Computer Build!


For those wanting to know about SSD's vs HD's.....here is a pretty good write up..

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0%2c28...04259%2c00.asp

Tidbit of note worthy mention...

Quote:
As far as longevity goes, while it is true that SSDs wear out over time (each cell in a flash memory bank has a limited number of times it can be written and erased), thanks to TRIM technology built into SSDs that dynamically optimizes these read/write cycles, you're more likely to discard the system for obsolescence before you start running into read/write errors. The possible exceptions are high-end multimedia users like video editors who read and write data constantly, but those users will need the larger capacities of hard drives anyway. Hard drives will eventually wear out from constant use as well, since they use physical recording methods. Longevity is a wash when it's separated from travel and ruggedness concerns.
So.....This is why you want to use an HD for heavy data storage and the SSD for the OS and programs.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:19 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 483
Rewards Points: 302
Default

Computer Build!


Yeah, but the OS is constantly swapping to and from disks, mainly with page files or temp files, so that's why I wondered about longevity.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:24 PM   #49
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,670
Rewards Points: 2,646
Default

Computer Build!


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
Yeah, but the OS is constantly swapping to and from disks, mainly with page files or temp files, so that's why I wondered about longevity.
That is why you want a lot of memory. It reduces/eliminates the page file swaps.

At 8G, the page file swap pretty much goes away unless you have a crap load of applications open at the same time.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:40 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 483
Rewards Points: 302
Default

Computer Build!


You still have to get the data from the drive to that 8gb of ram, which requires read/write requests, then the os will try and predict what files you are going to use and swap them to ram to increase speed, but it has to do that constantly. So the read/write requests are the same, but it seems faster since you aren't waiting for the data from the drive and taking it from ram instead.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:46 PM   #51
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,670
Rewards Points: 2,646
Default

Computer Build!


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
You still have to get the data from the drive to that 8gb of ram, which requires read/write requests, then the os will try and predict what files you are going to use and swap them to ram to increase speed, but it has to do that constantly. So the read/write requests are the same, but it seems faster since you aren't waiting for the data from the drive and taking it from ram instead.
You didn't read the info right....

You can read from SSD all you want without decreasing life.....it's the 'writes' that shorten the life.

If you have plenty of RAM...you're not swapping to disk (SSD)....so...life is good...
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 09:51 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 483
Rewards Points: 302
Default

Computer Build!


"If you have plenty of RAM...you're not swapping to disk (SSD)....so...life is good..."

I will agree to disagree on this point.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 12:55 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,155
Rewards Points: 1,426
Default

Computer Build!


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
Yeah, but the OS is constantly swapping to and from disks, mainly with page files or temp files, so that's why I wondered about longevity.
Page files can be moved to other drives. (In fact I don't even run with a page file anymore) All temp data files can be moved to other drives... mail... internet cache... etc, if you have a concern.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 03:45 PM   #54
Member
 
r0ckstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,341
Rewards Points: 990
Default

Computer Build!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
Page files can be moved to other drives. (In fact I don't even run with a page file anymore) All temp data files can be moved to other drives... mail... internet cache... etc, if you have a concern.
Yep. Just do a search on how to set up a scratch disk.


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
The idea of using the SSD drives is very interesting. I might have to give it a test try and see what it can do. The only thing I wonder about is the failure rate and reliability. The reviews are all over the board, some say it's great, some say garbage and it died, but the same seems to happen with hard drives these days. The last time I bought 5 drives, 2 were doa.
Ive had a SSD in both of my computers for 2yrs now. One is used for office things. The other is for everything else (photography, digital design, games, etc..).. So far, no problems on either.
r0ckstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:46 AM   #55
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Computer Build!


So I got everything together and it booted right up. Loaded win7 on the ssd but I can't connect to the internet to load all of the updates.

I have it plugged in directly to the router, it ask for a username and password then it comes back with an error.

The diagnostics says "Install a driver for your network adapter" and "windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter. If you have a network adapter, you will need to re-install the driver."

Where do I get this driver?
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:52 AM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer Build!


From another computer that has Internet connectivity search on the brand name of your network adapter and windows 7. Although most network adapters today are pretty generic except in high multi-port adapters. Trust the Microsoft site or manufactures site before third parties.

Last edited by jimn01; 08-09-2014 at 10:55 AM.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:32 AM   #57
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Computer Build!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimn01 View Post
From another computer that has Internet connectivity search on the brand name of your network adapter and windows 7. Although most network adapters today are pretty generic except in high multi-port adapters. Trust the Microsoft site or manufactures site before third parties.
I got it working now, thanks.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 12:50 PM   #58
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Computer Build!


Next question.............I have the OS installed on a SSD. I have another HD I want to install everything else on but I am not showing that the second HD is even there looking in "computer". It only shows the SSD and the DVD.

When I re-boot and go into the bios it does show that the extra drive is there.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 01:18 PM   #59
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,843
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Computer Build!


It also shows the extra HD in device manager but not in "My Computer".

How do I set the second drive as the default so the ssd does nothing more than hold the OS?
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 09:37 AM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Computer Build!


Right click on the drive in device manager. Make sure it indicates it's working correctly. I wouldn't think you would need any special driver.

As far as redirecting your pictures, documents etc. right click on the library folder and select properties and change the location. Sear Microsoft.com for redirecting libraries widows 7 for more details.

When install programs, makes 2 directories on the second drive. Call one Program Files and the other Program Files(x86). We installing applications select these directories rather the ones on C:

Advertisement

jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take the computer outside? gma2rjc Off Topic 9 08-09-2012 11:36 PM
Build up in cast iron pipe bend -> new high pressure toilet to fix? VTJeff99 Plumbing 3 02-09-2012 02:05 PM
How much more would it cost to build another story? reveriereptile Building & Construction 5 01-19-2012 11:51 PM
How do I build this sofft? swt99svt Building & Construction 7 01-17-2012 07:26 AM
High Tech Computer Desk nicksti Interior Decorating 0 11-20-2009 09:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts