Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2009, 11:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable modem...squeezing more performance out of it...


I have the maximum speed provided by my cable company (8mb). My ping averages 45-140ms. I really have looked into getting more life and speed out of my modem. After looking at the power block for it, I decided to get a different one. The original power block put out unstable power (12-16v).
I also put some heatsinks on the chips (they got very hot, no heatsinks to my surprise).

Ok, first filter design, electrolytic capacitors, I miswired one...
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5349.jpg

Diy twisted pair

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5351.jpg
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5352.jpg

New layout

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5353.jpg
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5354.jpg
http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5356.jpg

Some pins that I will need to bridge

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5357.jpg

Very basic schematic *(this one is missing a capacitor)

http://i428.photobucket.com/albums/q...w/100_5361.jpg


Last edited by rgsgww; 03-15-2009 at 02:20 PM.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:38 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable modem...squeezing more performance out of it...


you might also unplug your modem when your not using it. I had a Best Data Modem, after each night or when not in use, unplugging it would also prolong life. I got 2yrs. 2 months of life out of it, people were surprised because from what they told me Best Data would only last only after 1 year.

evol200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 12:00 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable modem...squeezing more performance out of it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by evol200 View Post
you might also unplug your modem when your not using it. I had a Best Data Modem, after each night or when not in use, unplugging it would also prolong life. I got 2yrs. 2 months of life out of it, people were surprised because from what they told me Best Data would only last only after 1 year.
I do that, I always unplug all of my equipment when I go on vacations. Its a good idea...in summer, we get a lot of power outages and overvoltages.

Those modems get very hot!

I also read on a forum where the guy replaced all of the capacitors in the modem for higher quality ones, he found that his ping lowered and he lost less packets.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 12:19 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable modem...squeezing more performance out of it...


interesting, I'll have to look that up sometime. For modems in general to have a life expectancy of a few years does raise a few questions. This is a really good post you made.
evol200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 12:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable modem...squeezing more performance out of it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by evol200 View Post
interesting, I'll have to look that up sometime. For modems in general to have a life expectancy of a few years does raise a few questions. This is a really good post you made.

I found the thread about the caps.

http://capsmod.net/forum/viewthread....extra=page%3D1

Modems can last a long time, but once the docsis specification changes for your isp...you need a new modem. Thanks
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.