Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2011, 06:02 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 278
Default

Is this bunk or truth?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostlyvision View Post
Any "single-pair" of telephone wires can be used for many different applications simultaneously.

Ah, so that's how AT&T can get TV (Uverse) through the phone lines.
No they run a Fiber optic networks are viewed as more advanced than copper wire

del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:30 PM   #17
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,418
Rewards Points: 2,484
Default

Is this bunk or truth?


Quote:
No they run a Fiber optic networks are viewed as more advanced than copper wire
"Advanced"???
Not here. Nothing is advanced.
__________________
XXX
Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 06:17 PM   #18
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

Is this bunk or truth?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
"Advanced"???
Not here. Nothing is advanced.
I’m surprised, their running fiber optic all over the place around here and I know you’re way closer to a little big city than I am.

The house I’m working on now just got plugged in and is 4 miles off the county rd. down them slimy mud roads,15 miles to the closest wannabe grocery store.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 11:13 AM   #19
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,985
Rewards Points: 2,240
Default

Is this bunk or truth?


We have DSL thru AT&T but they don't offer cable here because, according to them, we don't have fiberoptic. The local cable company is running fiberoptic and will soon offer internet. They claim it's necessary for internet. So, who knows.

__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat bunk? Set at 78 AC still running at 73 abefroman HVAC 2 07-03-2011 02:17 PM
Moment of Truth Alto Off Topic 6 06-19-2010 12:05 AM
Does anyone know if this repair man is telling the truth? TCK Appliances 7 11-04-2009 07:42 AM
The truth about nutrition gma2rjc Off Topic 3 07-25-2009 09:54 AM
I was told water pressure too high - bunk or truth? vsheetz Plumbing 5 04-23-2009 09:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.