A Bit OT..Computer Magazine Recommendations? - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-09-2010, 10:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

A bit OT..Computer Magazine Recommendations?

I'm a lifelong IT professional..though by no means an expert technician...but I end up spending a lot of time as the household sys admin! I have a wireless G network with Comcast 16Mbit service...on the network is my wife's laptop, my work laptop, the kids desktop, a wireless printer, a Wii console....and of course digital cameras, just added an HD camcorder...have a networked 2TB drive for storage and using Acronis for data and image backup.

As my kids are now 8 and 5 I'm finding greater need to keep up on all things home computer related....particularly software for the kids..but also interested in hardware, networking, backup tools, drives, home entertainment, etc. I'm looking for a magazine subscription that will hopefully let me stay current on these things. I thought of PC Magazine but discovered they no longer have a print version and I definitely want something that is in print. What does everyone like that would most closely fit the above expressed need???

Advertisement

piste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 06:53 AM   #2
Doer of Many Things

Rewards Points: 526

Print magazines for tech are not really the way to go. With anything technology related you are better off checking multiple sources online. A lot of the magazines get bad reviews on the web due to biased and incorrect info. I personally spend a lot of time browsing Wilders Security forums. All kinds of good info there.

Advertisement

poppameth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 10:15 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppameth View Post