Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 07:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 252
Rewards Points: 250
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


I am running Win7 with two separate Hard Drives (C & D) Most of the time now, when I boot up, the BIOS does not list D rive, and of course it is not listed when Win7 is running. Yet, sometimes, the BIOS does find it and everything boots fine. Other times, the boot will hang at the post stage, and the only way to get the PC to boot is disconnect the cable from D.
C is the master, with D as the slave on IDE 1.
Can I assume D is defective and on it's way out, (it is a few years old) or am I overlooking something?
Thanks for your help.

polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:43 AM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


May be defective, may just be the cable. Could even be a tiny bit of corrosion on the cable, try pulling the cable and putting it back on. You could try hooking the D: to IDE 2 as master too. Do a disk check on it when you get it up and running to check for bad sectors or other problems.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:10 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 252
Rewards Points: 250
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Thanks DangerMouse (love the name) I have had the cable off and on numerous times, so I don't think it could be corrosion. Could be the cable itself, so I will try a spare cable. I have done D to IDE2 Master, and it acted the same as a slave on IDE1..sometimes it is there and sometimes not.
Good suggestion on doing a disk check the next time it is recognized.
Thanks for the help.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,662
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


To add to what "DM" has posted -
Yes, suspect the cable.
The battery on the "motherboard" could be going bad.
The power supply could be going bad.
How old is the computer?

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 252
Rewards Points: 250
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Never thought about the battery on the Mb, but if that was the problem, wouldn't the BIOS "forget" other things such as date, time, etc.? I will replace it just in case...nice cheap fix if it works.
The power supply was suspect so I replaced it with one from another PC, and still the same problem.
The MB is an MSI board and probably 4 - 5??? years old. The HD is probably the same age.

More info...this only started to happen, - infrequently at first - after I did a clean install to Win7. No problem prior to that with XP. That said, the upgrade to 7 would have no effect on the BIOS not recognizing the drive.
Thanks for the help.

Last edited by polarzak; 01-05-2012 at 10:29 AM.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:35 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,662
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Quote:
Originally Posted by polarzak View Post
Never thought about the battery on the Mb, but if that was the problem, wouldn't the BIOS "forget" other things such as date, time, etc.? I wil lreplce it just in case...nice cheap fix if it works.
The power supply was suspect so I replaced it with one from another PC, and still the same problem.
The MB is an MSI and probably 4 - 5??? years old.

Thanks for the help.
Yes, it might "forget" other things -
However, it might not.
Are you sure the power supply you replaced the existing one with;
was up to the requirements of your system?
Your system is only 4 to 5 years old -
It should be able to "auto-detect" your "D" drive.

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:57 AM   #7
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,315
Rewards Points: 546
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


More than likely the HD is dieing on you.

Back it up and replace that soon.

Andy.
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:01 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


You have covered most of the normal bases for this problem, it's quickly looking more and more (to me) like what you fear. Back up any and all info you wish to keep from that drive before it dies completely.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:07 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,662
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Just re-read your last post.
It is possible for a "HD" to fail, within 4 to 5 years.
Sometimes, they fail completely - sometimes not.
To be on the "safe side" - I would move/copy anything of value on your
"D" drive, to your "C" drive.
Download the diagnostic software from the manuf. of your "D" drive;
and run it - on your "D" drive, only.

A little late!

rossfingal

4 to 5 years old - replace the battery anyway.

Last edited by rossfingal; 01-05-2012 at 11:10 AM.
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:37 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 252
Rewards Points: 250
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Thanks all. I think we have all come to the same conclusion; it is the drive, although I will try your other suggestions first. I think the next time "D" is recognized (I hope it does) I will move everything off it and replace it. This 150gb is probably toast. HDs are pretty cheap these days. I remember years ago I paid close around $200 for a 4gb drive. And I thought I would never fill it.
Thanks folks.
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 11:54 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,662
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Sorry to hear about a "dead" drive!
If it locks up - becomes inaccessible -
One thing to try is take a couple of "zip-lock" baggies -
put the drive in them and put it in the freezer - for a while -
Days.
Then plug it back in and move files.
15 to 20 minutes, at a time.
Quite often - it works.
I've done it, more then once - with success!

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:36 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Suggestions:

1. If D drive is jumpered as a slave, like in the olden days, remove and re-jumper to C/S for cable select (or vice versa).

2. Download latest Ubuntu free linux iso and burn to a CD. It's a boot disk also (as well as install disk). When first menu pops up, select 'Run Ubuntu from CD without changing my computer' option. You'll see all the open source product such as Firefox browser and Open Office etc but you can also 'see' your 'drives' and move files across partitions.

3. Borrow/buy a copy of SpinRite and run to correct deep drive errors.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:11 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 252
Rewards Points: 250
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Thanks for all of the info. I managed to get my spare PC to recognize the drive, copied everything over to the new drive with a partition/copy manager software, and everything is working fine with the new drive. As far as the other is concerned, it is garbage. Probably will take it apart and smash the platter. Wouldn't want the KGB looking at my "classified" information LOL
polarzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:15 AM   #14
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

BIOS sometimes cannot find "D" drive


Be sure to save the super strong magnet(s) inside. They have tons of uses!

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
rossfingal (01-11-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to find a contractor? sgt_utz Building & Construction 2 09-28-2011 06:15 AM
How to find a garage door dealer meburdick Building & Construction 5 06-28-2011 08:29 PM
Find the Right Contractor for Two Home Improvement Projects mdawson3k General DIY Discussions 10 05-16-2011 02:34 PM
Can't find good laminate comparison anywhere cpsilo1 Flooring 3 03-20-2011 04:49 PM
Vista sp1 won't load. drive won't restore sv9779 PC Repairs & Upgrades 42 01-11-2009 10:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.