Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 11:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

bios password reset


I have a Toshiba Satellite a205 series . I don't remember ever putting a bios password on it, I think my son might have. I have checked for a Battery to take out but can't find one, is there another way to reset any info would be great.

bignezzy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 419
Default

bios password reset


Quote:
Originally Posted by bignezzy74 View Post
I have a Toshiba Satellite a205 series . I don't remember ever putting a bio password on it, I think my son might have. I have checked for a Battery to take out but can't find one, is there another way to reset any info would be great.
go here and see if anything you can use http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/26...kdoor-password

del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

bios password reset


There has to be a battery. Quarter sized or so. Keep checking little compartments on bottom of computer. May have to remove hard drive or main battery to see it. Leave out for a while when you find it.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:29 AM   #4
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Default

bios password reset


Have you tried calling the Toshiba service center?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 255
Default

bios password reset


I'm not sure if this will work for you...

http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic102975.html

You may have to take it in:

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/t...ssword&x=6&y=9
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 01:33 PM   #6
Is this wire Hot?
 
Oh-Fudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 173
Default

bios password reset


I have read, but haven't tried it myself, that you can simply replace the BIOS chip (EPROM). This is not easy as it requires soldering skills. It is perfectly legitimate to do this because someone may purchase a used laptop, such as from PropertyRoom.com or something, and have a BIOS password unknown.

But, I really like tribe fan's answer better if it works for you.
Oh-Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

bios password reset


Do what DIYORPAY recommended. Remove the battery that is the size of a quarter. Speed up the process by pressing and holding the power button to drain all of the power from the board.

Wait some time and replace the battery. See this link: Scroll all the way down to the bottom.

Good luck.
sonohuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:44 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

bios password reset


Removing the battery will do the trick.
Indecisi0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:45 AM   #9
Is this wire Hot?
 
Oh-Fudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 173
Default

bios password reset


"Remember that laptops can be trickier, especially if it's a newer model. If it has a security chip on the motherboard forget about it. You either have to physically remove the chip or contact the mfg for the "master" password. If you can boot up off of a cd or floppy try any of these methods"....wikihow.com

Oh-Fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting the reset "Curve" for a modulating boiler (modcon) mknmike HVAC 5 02-10-2011 11:37 AM
Water heater reset is tripping. rjniles Plumbing 7 11-24-2010 08:15 AM
Boiler needs to be reset Chris12047 HVAC 8 11-12-2008 02:28 PM
HEIL furnace keeps kicking off reset switch sunsetacres1318 HVAC 8 11-04-2008 08:35 AM
GFCI wouldn't reset, now it will sherlock Electrical 4 10-18-2005 10:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.