Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Share |
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


A notice on my computer says my "Adobe Flash plugin has crashed". Can someone tells me what that means and what to do about it?

What might have caused it?

__________________

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:24 PM   #2
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,081
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


I got the same thing yesterday, I didn't do anything and later it was ok.

__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Thanks Jim. I won't do anything with it then and see how it is tomorrow.
__________________

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gma2rjc For This Useful Post:
BigJim (10-15-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 05:35 PM   #4
STAFF
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7,081
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Barb, I just remembered what I was trying to watch when that message popped up, it was the water fall swing video, that was really neat.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BigJim For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (10-15-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 07:04 PM   #5
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 700
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


If it persist, I would try uninstalling it and then a fresh install of flash.
I had a update the other day of flash, gave me no problems.

I like to use a free app called ccleaner "crap cleaner"
It has a few options, tools to use. You can use it like microsoft add and remove programs, seems to do a thorough job.
It has cleaner, which will clean out left over files and clear the cache on your browser. Seems when new programs are installed, is always little leftovers that are no longer needed or removed. Simply clearing the cache on your browser may be all you need.

It has a registry cleaner, will remove useless stuff that again is left over from installed apps, If I do a fresh install of xp with service pack2 and update it to current, I run ccleaner on it and sometimes need to run registry cleaner 3 times to remove all the junk microsoft updates left, before installing anything but updates.
This also shortens boot up time since it does not need to sift through the crap.

Then it has tools, which will list all of your installed apps, is what I would use to remove adobe-flash, it does a good job removing things.
I have used it for about 6 years and never had it create a problem for me, just cleans up, on another computer forum it is recommended by others all the time, no one has complained about it.
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to funfool For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (10-15-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 07:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Thank you funfool. Does it work the same way on a Mac? I have seen the uninstall feature on this, so I'll go there and uninstall the Adobe Flash plugin tomorrow, if it doesn't straighten itself out like it did for Jim.

This computer has been doing a couple of odd things for a couple days now. Mostly not shutting down when it's supposed to. The screen goes gray and then black, like it always does, but then when I go to start it up the next time, I find out that it stayed on.

Thanks again you guys!

Barb
__________________

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 773
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Solution to almost everything computer related........reboot !
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SPS-1 For This Useful Post:
Cricket (05-27-2014)
Old 10-15-2012, 08:48 PM   #8
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 700
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


My advice was for a windows pc. Sometimes is best if we say what pc we are running
No big deal, maybe someone else will get to see the post and help them.
I do think that removing and re-installing flash if needed, may help.

I do not have a opinion for ccleaner for mac, I have used it on windows and is one of the first tools I install and use. I do see it is available, here is the link.
It always works great for me, But I never run mac os. I use linux, and set the wife up with windows.
I need to edit this to show that the link I posted Requires an Apple Mac running OSX 10.5 to 10.7 Lion
Without knowing what version you are using, may need a different link to download. Just pay attention to get correct version.

http://www.piriform.com/mac/ccleaner

Last edited by funfool; 10-15-2012 at 08:54 PM.
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 331
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Flash can be quite annoying, but is necessary for some sites to work. I use a plug-in for FoxFire called Flashblock. It allows you to choose if Flash runs on a website or not. Really sped up my wifes system.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...on/flashblock/
Marty1Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty1Mc For This Useful Post:
gma2rjc (10-24-2012)
Old 10-24-2012, 01:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,103
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Thank you. I'll try it.
__________________

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 05:43 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Install new Adobe flash players if it is giving you problem regularly ..
joseph101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 10:37 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Someday flash will no longer exist and the world will be a better place. I will finally be able to get a simple menu from a restaurant.
mbender2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 09:24 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Flash crashes on me constantly. There's an article on the Adobe website that shows you how to fully un-install and re-install flash. This has helped for me, although the problem usually returns after a few months.
larry613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 03:39 PM   #14
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,776
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Adobe has had a bunch of problems the last few months. There was even a virus accessing computers through Adobe a month or so back. Hopefully they will get all the problems ironed out.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 06:58 PM   #15
Member
 
RoundedRooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 121
Default

Adobe Flash Plugin Has Crashed


Quote:
Originally Posted by gma2rjc View Post
A notice on my computer says my "Adobe Flash plugin has crashed". Can someone tells me what that means and what to do about it?

What might have caused it?
Adobe Flash is prone to problems. There is a reason Apple is or has developed their own player and Google supports the open source player, Adobe Flash is not well written. Steve Jobs even commented on how bad it is just before he passed away. Firefox and Adobe Flash always seem to have problems working together too!

So, just close your browser and restart it. That usually takes care of it. If you know what you're doing, use Windows Task Manager>>Processes tab and scroll down to your browser to verify your browser fully closes. If it doesn't, right click on it (could be more than one instance) then click on End All Processes. Perform that for each instance that remains open. Flash loads for each browser you have open.

RoundedRooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flash help biferi General DIY Discussions 4 06-02-2012 05:41 AM
flash code 5 followed by a long flash tasse HVAC 6 12-23-2011 07:21 PM
How to install a flash (for a vent pipe ) properly Gnfanatic Roofing/Siding 34 06-08-2011 10:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.