Acer Desktop Won't Boot Up - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 11:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


When the power switch is turned on, the 3 keyboard lights flash once.
The light on the optical drive flashes also.
There aren't any sounds made! (beeps) But the fans do run.
Nothing comes up on the monitor, it remains blank,
I checked the voltages on the power plugs for the drives and the 5 and 12 voltages are OK.
It has two 1 gig memory chips, so I tried booting with one removed and then tried booting again with the other, and still no go.
I'm thinking that its a mother board failure!

Anybody else have any ideas that I can try?

P.S. I tried the monitor on another computer and its OK! Tried booting without a keyboard and mouse also, to no avail.

Advertisement


Last edited by Wildie; 01-08-2011 at 11:45 PM.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:15 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


You may also have a dead CPU. Or you could try reseating it.

Advertisement

injvstice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 07:22 AM   #3
Ole Wood Worker

 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lookout Valley, Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,804
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


I have had to pull and reseat all components and plugs and that worked for me once, sometimes things just work loose.
__________________
New members: Please consider adding your location to your profile.

If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

Jim
BigJim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:45 PM   #4
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Do the fans kick on? Are the components in the tower actually running but you get no video? Or is the tower inactive as well?
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 01:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Quote:
Originally Posted by poppameth View Post
Do the fans kick on? Are the components in the tower actually running but you get no video? Or is the tower inactive as well?
The fans are running, the optical drive drawer opens and closes, the power switch light is on, but the screen remains blank.
On my MSI desktop I hear a beep signal and then the keyboard lights flash again. I do not have this on the problem on the ACER.

It seems to be failing to start the POST(power on self test) routine.

I believe that if you have just a power supply, and a monitor attached to the mother board that it should still start the POST.
Am I correct with this assumption?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 06:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


You still need working memory and CPU to enter post.

If you do not post and do not hear the post beep, you are having an issue with CPU, memory, or the motherboard. If you hear the post beep but do not see video, you have a video issue, in which case I would try a different video card or monitor.
injvstice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:46 AM   #7
Doer of Many Things
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,179
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


yep test video first. Barring that, it does seem to be a CPU or Mobo issue. I've seen Mobos go a lot more often than a CPU unless you are not properly ventilating the case or have it overclocked incorrectly.
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Quote:
Originally Posted by injvstice View Post
You still need working memory and CPU to enter post.

If you do not post and do not hear the post beep, you are having an issue with CPU, memory, or the motherboard. If you hear the post beep but do not see video, you have a video issue, in which case I would try a different video card or monitor.
Unless I have 2 memory sticks gone bad, I think its likely that the memory is OK. I tried one stick in each slot, then tried the other one. All to no avail.
The monitor was tested on another computer and it works well.
I wanted to be sure that the POST would be performed without any periferals being attached.
It uses onboard video, so all that I have is the m/b, memory sticks, power supply and the connected monitor.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 10:37 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Quote:
Originally Posted by poppameth View Post
yep test video first. Barring that, it does seem to be a CPU or Mobo issue. I've seen Mobos go a lot more often than a CPU unless you are not properly ventilating the case or have it overclocked incorrectly.
When this problem began, the owner ( a 70 year old woman) said that she was getting warning messages before it died. Not sure what they were!
There are are no obvious venting issues that I could see.
I don't know what type of CPU it is, as I will have to remove the fan unit before I can find out.
Its looking like a m/b to me, although it could be a failed CPU. If the CPU failed, I wouldn't think that warning messages could be generated.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:04 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Back in Minnesota
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


try removing the ram, then reinstalling. sometimes the ram just needs a kick in the rear. also, download ubuntu software and boot from that if possible. I am not sure what acer's "magic button" is but try f10, f8 or esc to enter the boot menu so you can maybe start in safe mode. I know you said that nothing was shown on the screen--not even a blinking hyphen? that is strange unless the mobo is fried or the cpu is fried. when you remove the ram, clean the whole computer with compressed air. don't make the fans spin too fast as that can damage them. clean computers don't heat up and last much longer
lendosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Quote:
Originally Posted by lendosky View Post
try removing the ram, then reinstalling. sometimes the ram just needs a kick in the rear. also, download ubuntu software and boot from that if possible. I am not sure what acer's "magic button" is but try f10, f8 or esc to enter the boot menu so you can maybe start in safe mode. I know you said that nothing was shown on the screen--not even a blinking hyphen? that is strange unless the mobo is fried or the cpu is fried. when you remove the ram, clean the whole computer with compressed air. don't make the fans spin too fast as that can damage them. clean computers don't heat up and last much longer
Thanks for your input, and I agree its likely to be a bad m/b.
And out of town friend had a spare m/b and its being shipped as I write this!
i'm hoping to try the new board on the weekend!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 07:19 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Here's the update on the Acer computer.

I replaced the m/b and the machine went through the POST routine but failed to load Vista.
It couldn't find BCD (I think)! There were no repair disks available, as somebody failed to make them.
So, bought the Win7 up-grade DVD. The installation worked perfectly.
Once Win7 was up and running, I was able to recover all the lost photo files.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 01:26 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Even if you purchased an identical model motherboard, manufacturers will make slight changes to chipsets or other components on the board that go undocumented.

Makes it hell when you purchase 1000 identical computers and try to image them.

If you just put any old motherboard in, the operating system needs to redetect all drivers and Windows typically is not very forgiving. A complete reinstall is usually the cleanest and best solution.

Last edited by n0c7; 02-05-2011 at 01:30 PM.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Acer desktop won't boot up


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
Even if you purchased an identical model motherboard, manufacturers will make slight changes to chipsets or other components on the board that go undocumented.

Makes it hell when you purchase 1000 identical computers and try to image them.

If you just put any old motherboard in, the operating system needs to redetect all drivers and Windows typically is not very forgiving. A complete reinstall is usually the cleanest and best solution.
Yup! After my experience, I must agree!

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vent Pipe Boot handy man88 Roofing/Siding 19 05-14-2012 02:18 AM
Making End Boot Smaller unixb0y HVAC 1 09-21-2010 07:30 PM
Desktop or Laptop PC? MagicalHome PC Repairs & Upgrades 16 07-27-2010 11:31 PM
Attaching Flex duct to register boot avshockey HVAC 15 12-03-2008 09:07 PM
Install Register Boot in finished ceiling? rockyfan206 HVAC 1 03-06-2008 06:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts