Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 07:19 AM   #1
Jack of all Trades
 
lifestooshort81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: [northern] New Jersey
Posts: 81
Share |
Default

AC vs DC


Hi Folks.
I have a question more regarding an LED product as opposed to a computer question but figured if people who would know the answer sit on this board.

Ok so a few weeks back I bought an LED tape (a 16' long strip of LED's) that is set up for 12 dc power. I used it in my work truck to illuminate the cab and cap/tool boxes. This got me thinking. Why can't I use something like this with a transformer in a residential application as an accent light. I know my idea will work and I have a transformer but it's 12v AC. Will alternating current work on an LED set up for DC?

Thanks!

lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:33 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,393
Default

AC vs DC


Simple answer is NO.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 08:01 AM   #3
Jack of all Trades
 
lifestooshort81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: [northern] New Jersey
Posts: 81
Default

AC vs DC


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed
Simple answer is NO.
I by no means want to sound like a jerk but could you explain why? Now that I'm thinking about it, I have used LEDs on my boiler system to show me the zone valves were activate and that's 24v AC. Bought the components from radio shack.

Thanks
lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

AC vs DC


The main thing is the difference between ac and dc, and not all leds are for 12v dc. There is different leds for different applications.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/edison/sfeature/acdc.html

we
gizmo021187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 773
Default

AC vs DC


Actually, I think it would work. But the LEDs would be turning on and off 60 x per second. But you could just as easily buy a 12 VDC adapter that gives you filtered 12 volts DC. If you plan on putting this in your house, even better would be to post the question in the Electrical forum so you can be sure you are doing all this safely. Besides just doing it safely, I would be converned of ensuring that you do not burn out the LED's.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by SPS-1; 10-14-2012 at 07:37 PM.
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

AC vs DC


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS-1 View Post
Actually, I think it would work. But the LEDs would be turning on and off 60 x per second
Huh?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.