Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2008, 08:40 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Share |
Default

Wiring Trouble


hI;
I hooked up my sound system the other day. i hear surround sound when i use the new srrnd system to play dvd's. but when i try to play the tv through the surrnd system nothing comes out. i have it set up in the aux setting in the surround system and in the audio out in my tv. still nothing comes out.. can someone tell me what may be happening

JAVAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 12:22 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Wiring Trouble


First thing, need a breakdown of the components to better understand the problem. This means Make & model of TV, how do you have it hooked up to the Surround system, and have you followed the instructions? You can double check everything by looking at the manual for the TV to make sure that Sound Pass-Through is enabled, and that the connections are correct. For a easy diagram, you can check out http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/S-...allationguide/

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Default

Wiring Trouble


basicly on the tv i have a audio out plug and on the surround sound i have auxulry with l& r red& white. i have one single cablefrom the audio out on the tv, this splits into a y with one red cable and one white cable. they are going into the aux. it tells me to switch to aux in the surrnd system and i should hear what the tv is putting out but i get nothing just some static and very very faint muffled& distorted voices.

does this help.
JAVAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:12 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Wiring Trouble


No, but I stayed at a Holiday Inn one time. Do as I suggested above about checking out the settings on the TV, and double check the connections. Same for the manual for the Surround System.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:53 PM   #5
Home Remodeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Orchard, Wa
Posts: 235
Default

Wiring Trouble


How is your tv hooked up, cable box using DVI, HDMI, cable?
mikey48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:19 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Wiring Trouble


That will make no change in how the sound is passed from the tV to the Surround sound. If the sound is okay out of the TV, but not on the Surround sound, it is a hookup issue on the Surround system, and TV set.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:21 PM   #7
Home Remodeler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Port Orchard, Wa
Posts: 235
Default

Wiring Trouble


If he is using a DVI cable from the cable box he will have no sound.
mikey48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Default

Wiring Trouble


we don't have cable our tv is running from the antenna on the roof which connects to the tv with a standard tv cable. the surround sound system is hooked up with hdmi cable to the tv so i can use its dvd player.
JAVAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 02:54 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Wiring Trouble


Then, you are outputing Sound & Video to the TV. Now, from the TV to the Sound system, did you follow the directions in the manual for the TV to connect said set to a Stereo/AV system, and go into the menu to allow for Pass-Through.

As prev. requested, what is the manufacturer & model of the TV & sound systems.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermostat wiring trouble telbroome@aol.com Electrical 3 11-01-2007 04:17 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
wiring trouble? brad25 Electrical 5 11-27-2005 06:07 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.