Wierd Problem With New Sharp TV - Home Theater - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 04:06 PM   #16
Doin' work
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gkieler View Post
Just bought the Sharp LC-60E69U and I have the lates Verizon HD DVR. I new it was to good to be true, $900. Why this is not in any reviews, verifies my consiracy theory on those so called "Reviews"

Having the same problem, really annoying having to re-adjust my volume when I'm done FF commercials. I guess its a good thing the speaker are kinda weak.

Just got off the phone with Costco tech, he called Sharp while I was on hold. The Sharp lady named Preciuos was not much help...no serious her name was "Precious".

After some discussion she said I might needed a new/different IR filter, does that sound right? Gonna call when I get home to go through some T/S steps with Preciuos...

I was frustrated that she said it was the first they heard of this, but not surpised. She was not to concerned that I was planning on returning the TV. I'm sorry, the TV should work with all cable companies even little ole "Verizon" .

sluri, how do you know your at 60hz vs 120?
You'll know what refresh rate your at as you change channels if the broadcast rate changes it will pop up on the tv.

As for the filter, they sent me one and it did nothing. The problem is also beyond just verizon according to the Sharp agent. The best # to get ahold of them and complain and possibly get things done is; 877-332-7867 and ask for the escalations department.

Advertisement

ariscus99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 10:06 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Yup it shows up on the right hand side on top. If you change inputs and bring it back to your hdmi input where your FiOS box is set, it will show up.

There is also a real bad lag if you do any kind of gaming on this and the refresh rate is still at 60.

Mine is going back this weekend, in this case I don't mind spending a bit more money for something I will use everyday.

-sluri







Quote:
Originally Posted by Gkieler View Post
Just bought the Sharp LC-60E69U and I have the lates Verizon HD DVR. I new it was to good to be true, $900. Why this is not in any reviews, verifies my consiracy theory on those so called "Reviews"

Having the same problem, really annoying having to re-adjust my volume when I'm done FF commercials. I guess its a good thing the speaker are kinda weak.

Just got off the phone with Costco tech, he called Sharp while I was on hold. The Sharp lady named Preciuos was not much help...no serious her name was "Precious".

After some discussion she said I might needed a new/different IR filter, does that sound right? Gonna call when I get home to go through some T/S steps with Preciuos...

I was frustrated that she said it was the first they heard of this, but not surpised. She was not to concerned that I was planning on returning the TV. I'm sorry, the TV should work with all cable companies even little ole "Verizon" .

sluri, how do you know your at 60hz vs 120?

Last edited by sluri; 01-12-2012 at 11:16 AM.
sluri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 10:40 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


sluri, thanks for the #, 877-332-7867 , they are familiar with the problem.

Sharp wants to send a Tech out, but they are looking for someone close to my area. They are going to call me back. I am ok with them trying to fix it because COSTCO has a no questions ask 90 day return policy. THEREFORE, even if I am not comfortable with the fix I can take it back. The guy said they were going to swap out the IR sensor or the whole IR board. He said this is a problem with very few models it is just more with the LC-60E69U model and certain cable companies.

On a side note I ask about the signal showing 60HZ vs 120HZ, he told me no cable companies broadcast in 120HZ they all send a 60HZ signal. The TV takes that signal and converts it to 120HZ. The 60hz in the upper right corner is what is coming in from your cable.

I'm not a rocket scientist, but that sounds odd. Why even bother paying extra for a higher HZ TV, unless you only watch blue Ray or something.

Rocket Scientist, please chime in!

G out
Gkieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:23 PM   #19
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gkieler View Post
Why even bother paying extra for a higher HZ TV, unless you only watch blue Ray or something.
From CNET:

Quote:
The importance of 120Hz comes into play when we are dealing with film-shot material rather than video-shot material, keeping in mind that film is 24fps and video is 30fps or sometimes 60fps. A 60Hz display refreshes it's image 60 times per second and 120Hz doubles that. For video, there is no problem displaying a smooth image on a 60Hz display because the number of video frames will divide evenly into the display rate. But when using film material that is 24fps, the frame rate will not divide evenly into the 60 frame display rate, so the 3:2 pulldown technique is put into play. This means that for every 3 video frames that display once, there is a single video frame that is displayed twice. This allows an even frame rate to be divided into an odd-numbered display rate. This 3:2 causes artifacts, such as blurriness or choppy frames during fast motion.

Now, the 120Hz display rate can be divided evenly by both film's 24fps as well as video's 30fps or 60fps, thus eliminating the need for the 3:2 pulldown math. But keep in mind that video-shot material will look good on both a 60Hz and a 120Hz display, especially HD video. Film-based material won't look as good on a 60Hz display as a 120Hz display because of the need for the 3:2 pulldown.
hyunelan2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:15 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


I bought the Sharp LC-60E69U from Costco having the same problem as others. I use Comcast cable. Had Comcast out. They tried everything said never heard of this problem. The tech that came out called all the other techs and his supervisor. No one knew of the prob. Then I went to Sharp/thru Costco was finally able to get them out. They said it was a sensitive IR sensor. They sent out the filter paper and the tech installed it did not work. We are now waiting on Sharp's response as to what they are going to do. Otherwise it's back to Costco with a good Television but does not work properly.

The interesting thing on my Television is I can eliminate the problem by hitting the exit button the Sharp remote after adjusting the volume with either remote. If I do that it does not have the volume problem again till I adjust the volume. Once you re adjust the volume and them use the generic (Comcast) remote, The problem comes back?
Dan M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:34 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


UPDATE: LC-60E69U
Spoke to a Sharp ďas a stumpĒ tech again this afternoon and they are sending the so called filter to me to install. I said you mean like a piece of clear tape, Yep, Not a chance!

Even if the filter tape works it will break down after time from UV and cleaning, then what?
Iím just waiting on a better deal on another TVÖSuper Bowl ads. Its going back to Costco?
Dan M,
Does the filter come off pretty easy once itís put on? I imagine itís just a piece of tape.
Gkieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:45 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


It is a small piece of tape that goes over the eye. It looks almost like scotch tape. It did not work. It only made my sharp remote have to be within 8' of the set to work. It dumbed down the signal to much.

The Tech that came out, had other filters and we tried a bunch of different filters and doubling up with no success. The tech called today and left a message and said he had been in contact with Sharp and they wanted to try something else after yesterday's conversation. He did not say what.

When the tech was talking with Sharp the previous day and finally got to the engineering department there seemed to be some head way when they found out the problem would go away when the exit button was pushed on the sharp remote. They said it now was sounding more like a software problem that the sound channel was saying open.

I just noticed that Costco quite selling these TV's both in the store and online either they sold out or ?


Dan
Dan M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 10:51 PM   #23
Doin' work
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan M View Post
...When the tech was talking with Sharp the previous day and finally got to the engineering department there seemed to be some head way when they found out the problem would go away when the exit button was pushed on the sharp remote. They said it now was sounding more like a software problem that the sound channel was saying open.

I just noticed that Costco quite selling these TV's both in the store and online either they sold out or ?


Dan
I'm not sure about this. Because on my tv(and maybe you guys can try this and see if it's the same thing) if the last button I pressed was the "source" button on the verizon remote, the source menu will continue popping up everytime I push any other button. Also if "mute" was the last button pressed the tv will mute and un-mute in the same fashion. I for now have just been using my surround sound and don't have to use the volume button's on the verizon remote so it has stopped the problem, in a way.
ariscus99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Of course the problem goes away when you push the exit button on the sharp remote because, as I mentioned earlier in this thread, the TV seems to be "repeating" the last command sent to it whenever you execute a DVR command. That is not a really practical workaround though since we typically just use a cable box or universal remote which does not have an exit button that controls the TV.

I got the Costco concierge to call sharp the other day BTW. The concierge got the Sharp tech on the phone for a three way conversation. The talk with the sharp technician was not productive though other than learning that I should not expect Sharp to do a thing about this problem. I was told that this is not Sharp's problem nor can they even verify it by reproducing the problem since they are not allowed to test with anything other than their own remotes. I also could not get the Sharp technician to tell me if the 79U model has the same problem. I've been to a few stores so far and could not find another Sharp TV that exhibits this problem. it appears to be unique to the 69U (and possibly 79U) models.
tpsoydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:30 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Mine went back to Costco..... I couldnt take it anymore, and the lack of real response from sharp has me convinced their easy tape fix is going to be as good as it gets. I don't blame sharp either as this a very very budget tv, why spend the time and money to come up with a fix for such a product.
Sluri
sluri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 10:09 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Problem solved. We returned our 60E69U to Costco and bought the 60E79U from Best Buy. I discovered that the 79U does not have the same problem as the 69U the other day by testing one.The 79U was only $100 more and is still a great deal I think.
tpsoydan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:03 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Same problem with fios remote and LC-60E69U. Sux. Gonna return it. Looks so great hanging on the wall. But this problem sucks the joy out of my new toy.

Thanks to everyone who posted. Saved me the continued frustration of thinking it could be fixed.
mtbdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:21 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Returned the TV, paid extra for better model. Problem fixed! What a hassle, FYI the filter I.E. piece of tape, did not work.
Gkieler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:30 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gkieler
Returned the TV, paid extra for better model. Problem fixed! What a hassle, FYI the filter I.E. piece of tape, did not work.
Mine goes back tomorrow

Went through the futile exercise with Costco concierge by the way
mtbdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:30 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wierd Problem with New Sharp TV


I'm having the same problem with the $899 60Ē that I bought from Costco but with the new and old Time Warner remotes. it's definitely a software problem, no ir filter can fix that.l Looks like mine will be going back too.

Advertisement

ScottInCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Don't understand this breaker tripping problem majesticjess Electrical 10 03-05-2010 07:42 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 09:19 AM
Grout peeling out from shower floor tiles. What's the problem? hellstorm Flooring 6 10-21-2009 10:15 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts