Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 05:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,300
Rewards Points: 1,034
Question

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


i was wondering how many and what kind of video IN sockets there are on most modern flatscreen TVs. i need to know that because i am doing behind-the-wall wiring. i guess most have an F connector and HDMI but do they have a separate RCA in as well for component cables?

i was thinking of running 2 RG-6 cables behind the wall, one terminated in F and the other RCA for the cable box and DVD/GoogleTV respectively. as far as HDMI, since i can't terminate it, that was just gonna go exposed.

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:46 PM   #2
Learning Things Every Day
 
Jay 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 555
Rewards Points: 500
Default

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


It depends.

Cheaper brands won't have as many inputs. Cheaper TV's by the big brands often have less inputs. That's part of what makes then cheaper.

Most modern TV's I've seen still have a composite input - although they're pretty much useless nowadays. All should have both component and of course HDMI, and many have VGA. Here and there you'll still find S-video.

Running a set of component cables wouldn't hurt, since most cable boxes and DVD/Blu-Ray players have them, and it's the only other non-HDMI way to transmit a HD signal. Anything that can be connected via HDMI should be, since it yields the best audio and video quality possible.

__________________
Under Construction
Jay 78 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay 78 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-12-2012)
Old 05-12-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


You can get 'L' connectors for HDMI, RCA, Coax, SPDIF, etc., now days. Depending on how much room from the back of the tv with the bracket you are using, depends on how much "flex" room you have.

All you really need, is 3 runs of RG-6 for the Video portion of Component, add two more if you are going to be using the tv for sound, but most people are going with sound bars for the sound, since tv speakers are lacking. Regardless of how far of the run for HDMI, go with Cat-6 or Cat-5e for HDMI over ethernet. That is all you really need to the tv, not two thousand different cables, since most switching is done through a avrs, or such.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 05-12-2012 at 07:22 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,300
Rewards Points: 1,034
Default

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
All you really need, is 3 runs of RG-6 for the Video portion of Component
my NEC projector, on the other hand, has only a single component video RCA jack...
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:32 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
my NEC projector, on the other hand, has only a single component video RCA jack...
So, just run one run of RG-6 if you wish for that.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:30 PM   #6
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,979
Rewards Points: 1,126
Default

video in sockets on most new flatscreen TVs


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
my NEC projector, on the other hand, has only a single component video RCA jack...
No, if it's just one connector then it's a COMPOSITE video signal. Component requires three; red, green and blue, one connector each.

It's pretty pointless to pull RF coax to a modern TV unless you plan on using an over-the-air antenna. Better to use HDMI or component. Bear in mind, component along with audio requires a lot more wire than HDMI, this also means larger conduit, and labor to pull it.

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light bulb sockets and wattage ratings Richo Electrical 3 10-17-2010 09:42 AM
Mounting a flatscreen TV on a sheetrock wall TanMan Building & Construction 14 02-16-2009 05:26 PM
new sockets seanie Electrical 1 08-20-2006 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.