Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2008, 11:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

TV mount on drywall/metal studs?


Hi.

I recentaly bought a Premier Mounts AM200 LCD 2 Way Articulating Arm Mount (supports up to 50lbs) for my 32" Sony Bravia TV.

I then found out that my walls use metal studs and 5/8" drywall - the arm mount manufacturers says to only install on woods studs or concrete.

I contacted a number of pro installers and got THREE different answers:

1) "we use a molly bolt or hilti bolt that literally bolts the bracket to the steel stud. This will be just as secure if not more secure than wood or concrete"

2) "Any articulating arm mount should be installed onto wooden stud or concrete. However, we have special toggles that can secure that mount to metal stud."

3) "What will be required to install the mount so that it can support the
TV is openning the wall and reinforcing the steel stud buy incerting
wood 2" X 4" so the screews have somtihng to anchor into otherwise the
screews would after time rip through the steel studs and the TV will
fall."

Who is right? what do I do? please help....

drewnyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:50 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

TV mount on drywall/metal studs?


In the 50 LB range you'll be fine listening to answers 1 and 2.

The "secret" Hilti bolts they're talking about are the Hilti "Toggler" toggle bolts. They're not cheap but they easily do what you need them for.

I suggest the 1/4" variety for what your doing. You'll need to drill a hole with 1/2 inch bit and make sure you hit the stud as close to the middle as you can.

Hope that helps.

macduff98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 07:46 PM   #3
motivator
 
Speedball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 75
Default

TV mount on drywall/metal studs?


The "special toggles" he mentioned can be purchased at a home store and require at least a 1/2" hole into the center of the stud. The name of them are TOGGLERS, similar to toggle bolts but much stronger and easier to install.
Speedball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 05:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Rewards Points: 500
Default

TV mount on drywall/metal studs?


Drew, if it was my brand new tv, I'd post this question over in the carpenter section, or construction. Just because I don't trust them metal studs doesn't mean it won't hold up, but if your asking your question you already have concerns about it. Get some advise from them carpenters first.
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 75
Default

TV mount on drywall/metal studs?


I don't trust metal studs myself, my preference is #3. Sometimes when you try to drill or screw into those metal studs, they just bend out of the way, and you may not realize it until it's too late.
Jeeper1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plasma Mount into Metal Studs davewolfs Home Theater 24 05-21-2009 09:23 AM
using 8' studs vs 7'-9" studs RINAIL Carpentry 2 07-10-2008 05:16 PM
Plasma Mount in Family Room Built-Ins taysdad Home Theater 3 09-24-2007 09:59 AM
nails and staples missed studs in garage dingler44 Building & Construction 1 10-11-2006 12:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.