Trying To Go TVless-best Converter Box - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 10:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NW Minnesota
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Well, dishless at least. I know we missed out on the coupon stuff. Older TVs need the digital converter, correct? Our "big" TV (32 in) is a minimum of 12-15 yo, but still gets great picture.

Which are the good converter boxes? Is quality an issue with some?

Thanks!

Advertisement

Bill7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 07:57 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Consumerreports.com and also you can check out AVSforums.com. Consumer reports is the best biased opinion out there.

Advertisement

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NW Minnesota
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Thanks...

I went to the .gov site, and according to their maps, we should get good-very good reception.

Thanks again,

Bill
Bill7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:45 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Antennaweb.org is another site that helps in knowing strength. Keep in mind, Digital in some areas is a weaker signal, so even if you have a high tower, and large enough antenna, some far distant channels may not always come in, and will Pixelate.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:04 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Consumer reports is the best biased opinion out there.
boy, you can say that again.....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


I noticed all the converter boxes I could find locally have only a composite output, but composite doesn't work well with my TV, which has an HDMI input.

I got a DVD recorder with a digital tuner. No converter box necessary.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by pyper View Post
I noticed all the converter boxes I could find locally have only a composite output, but composite doesn't work well with my TV, which has an HDMI input.

I got a DVD recorder with a digital tuner. No converter box necessary.
Your TV has a HDMI input but not a digital tuner?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 01:11 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


That would be because if a set has a ATSC or QAM tuner, you do not need a ATSC OTA converter box.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 01:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Your TV has a HDMI input but not a digital tuner?
Yes. For some period of time before they finalized the digital broadcast standard they were selling HD sets with analog tuners and HDMI input.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:34 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


They still do. All sets still come NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:41 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
They still do. All sets still come NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners.
What question are you answering?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:27 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Look one above the one that you are questioning.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:24 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Look one above the one that you are questioning.
OK. I thought you meant that they ONLY come with analog tuners.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 07:55 AM   #14
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Trying to go TVless-best converter box


TV sets have not come with Analog only tuners for around 5 years now.

Advertisement

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY AC to DC power converter? hefty Electrical 9 11-16-2009 09:20 PM
Digital Converter Box otbelite1 Home Theater 3 05-05-2009 06:56 AM
uhf/vhf antenna does not plug into converter box. why? zz1234 Home Theater 6 04-14-2009 05:28 PM
converter for 4 to 5 inch for dryer vent tetrisattaque HVAC 1 01-13-2009 01:02 PM
3 Phase Converter Wiring ideffects Electrical 22 05-26-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts