Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2013, 03:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


I just switched to a new DSL service from cable but I do not like how far away my only phone jack is from my current modem location. Currently my phone line is spliced to go to two different locations but I do not use a landline for anything. Can I cut the phone line before the splice and just wire it from there directly into my DSL modem without even using a phone jack? Is this ok to do?

jrcbdc2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 02:44 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


I just switched to a new DSL service from cable but I do not like how far away my only phone jack is from my current modem location. Currently my phone line is spliced to go to two different locations but I do not use a landline for anything. Can I cut the phone line before the splice and just wire it from there directly into my DSL modem without even using a phone jack? Is this ok to do?

jrcbdc2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:13 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,029
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


Just run a new run of Cat-5e or Cat-6 from the NID outside, to where you want the modem for your DSL service to be. Suggest you place it in a central location, that you can bring all network drops to, and also would place your Wireless Access Point in an area, that would at least cover the majority of the house.

Any dead area in the home, use a second Access Point.

You only need to use the Orange Pair or Green Pair on the Cat-5e or Cat-6 for telephone, to the RJ-11 Keystone, which you can get all of this at your local Home Depot, Lowe's, Ace Hardware (Cat-5e unterminated may be hard), Menard's.

If you can find one of the Siecor DSL filters, it makes it even easier when doing a home run. http://www.pioneer-shoppe.com/sipodslspsp.html This will give you a better idea of what a "Homerun" is http://www.dslreports.com/faq/bellso...and_Procedures
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 07:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 436
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcbdc2001 View Post
I just switched to a new DSL service from cable but I do not like how far away my only phone jack is from my current modem location. Currently my phone line is spliced to go to two different locations but I do not use a landline for anything. Can I cut the phone line before the splice and just wire it from there directly into my DSL modem without even using a phone jack? Is this ok to do?
you can cut the telephone wire comming from the pole the red green white black wire to the phone jack , now the wire that come's out to the modem on the dsl unit can't be cut like it has special wire that i belive has like small string inside of the wire so it can't be soldered very easy , just move the phone jack and than add wire from the pole which has the red green white black wire and match them up and you will be fine, but the wire that plugs into the switch place should be only a wire that hasn't been cut, be sure and put the same color wire to the switch plate or it will not work, the reason that their are 4 color wires they only use 2 at a time and than if you want another phone some where else they use the other 2 color wires , good luck
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 07:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 436
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcbdc2001 View Post
I just switched to a new DSL service from cable but I do not like how far away my only phone jack is from my current modem location. Currently my phone line is spliced to go to two different locations but I do not use a landline for anything. Can I cut the phone line before the splice and just wire it from there directly into my DSL modem without even using a phone jack? Is this ok to do?
you posted this in another place, i responded to this , you should only post in one spot, that way people don't waist time on the post , check the first post
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 07:49 AM   #6
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,467
Default

Splicing telephone wire for new DSL connection


Fixed that double post for you----please don't start more than one thread on the same subject--------Moderator----

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
del schisler (10-01-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Option to fitting all the wire connection on 5 gauge box amb1s1 Electrical 13 03-27-2013 11:05 PM
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 12:29 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
wire connection peteracki Electrical 6 05-18-2010 06:12 AM
3 wire connection for new kitchen stove rjniles Electrical 4 09-13-2007 12:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.