Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-08-2007, 02:45 PM   #1

Share |

Speaker Wiring

I am in the process of building a home theater. I am relatively new to the audio end but have a background in computers and electrical.

I have been researching the best solutions for speaker wire (price vs quality). I have seen DIY for using network cable for speaker wiring (seems very tedious). Also using other types of wire for better quality and lower price.

However, I ran across a company called Sumiko that is very pricey. They have a loud speaker wire. It looks like coaxial cable (RG6) but it has a copper sheath (cosmetic??) and it may have a different insulation material.

My question is, as I cannot find anything on the subject, would it be beneficial to use dual strands of coaxial cable as speaker wire? Just soldering the solid copper wire to connectors in wall face plates?

It seems, without doing the math, that induction, capacitance, etc... would be great. But I may be missing something.

Anyone have thoughts or experience in this?

JamesA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 07:19 PM   #2
Agent 000

Speaker Wiring