Silly Problem With TV Remote Control - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2008, 10:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


Everything on the remote works just fine EXCEPT for the up/down sound adjustment button. I keep pointing the remote toward the TV at different angles, but it just won't work for some reason. Ever heard of this happening before??? By the way, the batteries are fine. In fact, I put new ones in just in case that was the problem.

Advertisement

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 10:48 AM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


Is it a universal remote? Sometimes they loose the memory and need to be re-programed.

Advertisement

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 10:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


I'm not sure if it's a universal remote or not (I'll check when I get home). But if it needs reprogrammed, wouldn't the other buttons be affected (channel, etc.) as well? Another thing I should have mentioned is that this problem had been getting progressively worse over time---from having to hit the sound button more and more times in order to get it to work, to how it is now---not working at all.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 11:09 AM   #4
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


If it's been getting progressively worse, I'd say it's time to spring for a new remote. The contacts inside the remote may be getting burned or dirty.

For my universal remote, if I don't get the code correct for my specific TV, some but not all the buttons work. There can be several different codes for one brand of TV.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 11:34 AM   #5
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


Its a common problem. Usually if effects the buttons you use most. Over a period of time, some "gunk" will work its way into the remote, and sometimes, a good cleaning will take care of it.
bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: sc
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


I've had this problem too. I did as bofusmosby said and had to take one of my remotes apart to clean it. Once I did, it worked fine for a long time. It was the remote that came with the tv.
kjwoodworking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 07:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


Thanks, guys, for the tip. It sounds like a cleaning is in store. I'll give it a try and will post back the results.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: beverly Ma
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to fburke
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


try all codes for your brand of tv first if that doesn;t work or if it did use to work pop the back off and go to Radio shack and get a can of electrical contact cleaner spray that on it let it dry and get all the smooge out of it.
fburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 08:27 AM   #9
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Silly problem with TV remote control


As far as the contact cleaner goes, make sure that it leaves no residue. Contacts should be completely dry when cleaned.

Advertisement

bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Wireless Remote - Motorized Plasma TV Lift JanFan Home Theater 3 03-19-2009 09:46 AM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Carrier furnace blowing control fuse Protean HVAC 3 02-18-2007 07:47 PM
need to control remote lamp post timalabim Electrical 3 05-01-2006 11:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts