Satellite Vs. Cable Coaxial Types? - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2009, 10:07 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


My home was wired for cable TV and we recently decided to go to with satellite instead because we got a good deal through our local phone company as they had bundled with Dish network. I had assumed that the satellite dish would simply plug into the existing network of cable in my home, but when the tech showed up he explained that all new wiring would need to be run using "Category 5" cable. He then proceeded to tell me that there is no possible way to run cable through existing walls (apparently he's never heard of fishing) and that the cable would have to be run along the baseboard/trim. Needless to say I showed him the door and installed the system myself, fishing the cable with no problem whatsoever.

What I'm wondering now is whether or not this cable will work with regular cable service should we ever decide to switch back. First of all I did a search for "Category 5" cable and found out that this is ethernet cable-not coaxial, so at this point I don't know what I have in my house. Second, I really don't want to have to fish all this cable again...

Advertisement

Badfish740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 10:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


You are correct that Cat5 cable is data cable. I know Directv uses Cat5 to connect to a broadband router for their On Demand service. What type of wire did you run? Is the system working now? That is pretty typical of cable/satellite installer. I had one tell me that I could hook the HD video output of the converter box through the SPDIF(digital audio) jack.

Advertisement


Last edited by jerryh3; 02-15-2009 at 10:39 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


The stuff he gave me looks just like any other coaxial cable I've ever seen-he just told me that it was different than what I had in my house. Granted, the stuff in the house is probably 10+ years old. Everything is working perfectly, I'm just hoping that if the cable company starts offering better deals a year or two down the road that I can switch over and not have to re-wire the house again.
Badfish740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 11:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Badfish740 View Post
The stuff he gave me looks just like any other coaxial cable I've ever seen-he just told me that it was different than what I had in my house. Granted, the stuff in the house is probably 10+ years old. Everything is working perfectly, I'm just hoping that if the cable company starts offering better deals a year or two down the road that I can switch over and not have to re-wire the house again.
You'll be fine. He didn't know what he was talking about. Are you sure he didn't say RG-6?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:41 PM   #5
Member
 
sestivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
You'll be fine. He didn't know what he was talking about. Are you sure he didn't say RG-6?
This is what I was thinking, too. He likely had RG-59 originally in the house, and at least DirecTV requires RG-6. I'd bet Dish Network is the same way.
__________________
Steve
sestivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 10:54 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sestivers View Post
This is what I was thinking, too. He likely had RG-59 originally in the house, and at least DirecTV requires RG-6. I'd bet Dish Network is the same way.

I agree with this as well...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 12:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Satellite vs. cable coaxial types?


Most techs don't know what their talking about, look at how they ground cable tv and satellite...when will they realize that just a ground rod will not do, must be connected to system.

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I pick the correct coaxial cable? fwmcbigfoot Home Theater 1 12-30-2008 10:45 AM
SE cable next to coaxial cable moondog111 Electrical 6 11-12-2008 04:12 PM
Coaxial Cable blew tv, computer etc... ozflow Electrical 4 10-13-2008 08:06 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM
Coaxial cable problem seaox67 Home Theater 1 04-07-2007 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts