Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 03:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Receiver upgrade - Audio wiring question


I am about to upgrade my receiver. Old unit does not have HDMI. New one will have several HDMI inputs. I will have a dvd player going to the receiver & a satellite unit (direct tv / dish) also going to the receiver. I always watch dvds in the receiver on for surround sound. i don't alsways want to watch the satellite with the receiver on such as watching news, weather, or other short vewing times nor do I always ant the whole house to have to hear the receiver sound. Question is: Do new units have any ability to have the audio pass through with out the receiver turned on? Or is there some kind of switch I can utilize that I can select the satellite audio to go either direct to the tv or through the receiver when surround is desired.

Thanks in advance for your input

Jerry

jpb007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Default

Receiver upgrade - Audio wiring question


With HDMI out from the receiver to the tv, all of the necessary audio/video should be streamed through to the tv and a simple volume adjustment of the tv should do the trick instead of the volume control on the receiver.

mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Receiver upgrade - Audio wiring question


Thanks for your reply. I'd like to sometimes not even have the receiver turned on. Or did I misunderstand your comment.
jpb007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Default

Receiver upgrade - Audio wiring question


Sorry but I do believe that the receiver would have to be turned on to have the signal passed through. Its been a while since I looked through the settings of a receiver so I could be wrong.
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooktop wiring upgrade Booron Electrical 7 12-08-2009 01:43 PM
carrier 48ss-042 wiring Question bekind42 HVAC 3 06-15-2009 05:54 PM
1939 House Wiring upgrade jimmyfloyd Electrical 4 10-01-2008 03:56 PM
Wiring to multiple bathrooms question budde97 Electrical 2 02-17-2007 12:57 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.