Question About Wireless Router Close To TV - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 06:45 AM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75

Question about wireless router close to TV

I hope this is the proper forum for my question. I have been using DSL for my internet from AT&T for a number of years, but I am thinking of switching to Comcast for my internet and phone. The best place to connect the cable modem would be at the point where the cable box for the TV is located. Would there be any interference problem if my wireless router is so close to the TV?



Jessidog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 07:20 AM   #2
DIY Hack
Mr Chips's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,306
Rewards Points: 506

I think it would be fine, but don't forget you can simply use a longer ethernet cable between the modem and router if you need some extra distance.


Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Chips For This Useful Post:
Jessidog (07-18-2011)
Old 07-18-2011, 11:26 AM   #3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016

Plasma TV's do cause issues for devices that operate at much lower frequencies, but not a problem for WiFi frequencies. It should not cause any issue for the wireless router or the TV.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75

I have my wireless router mounted on the back wall of my home theater enclosure, it's about 2-3 feet from the tv and even closer to all the other electronics and it has no issues. I was actually very surprised at how strong the signal was throughout the house considering it is basically inside a wall in the basement.
cdnNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:04 AM   #5
tonystewart1's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern WV
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

The only thing I have seen TVs intefere with are IR remotes. Some TV will block those.

Make sure that the cable they hook your modem to has the least number of spliters attached to it.

A good cable guy will take a leg off the first splitter and run a dedicated line to the modem. I always did. You lose signal and gain noise at every splitter and to many in the line to the modem will cause you problems upon problems with a stable connection.
tonystewart1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless ? econdave PC Repairs & Upgrades 13 06-30-2009 05:52 AM
Larson Storm Door Won't Close Snowbird Building & Construction 13 03-03-2009 03:01 AM
wireless router problems JAVAMAN PC Repairs & Upgrades 11 12-20-2008 02:50 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1