Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2008, 10:18 AM   #1

Share |
Unhappy

Plasma TV Mount problem - one of the 4 screws cannot hit a stud.....

Hi guys,

this is my first time posting here and I am seeking advice on how to securely mount my TV on the wall. I have the Motion 52 motorized mount that requires 4 main lag screws to mount. Three of the 4 screws was able to hit the stud perfectly but the Bottom Left screw totally missed the stud. The mount is both level of properly positioned.

Now I cannot move the mount anymore as the screw holes would not allow any more adjustments. I am wondering can I get a much longer wood screw and drill it in in a slanted manner whereby the srew latch onto the centre of the stud. My stud sizes are 1.5 inches thick by 7 inches wide. So if i can screw it from the centre of the stud on a slanted angle, I am guessing it should still provide adequate support?

My TV is the pioneer 50 inch plasma which weights about 70lbs. THe total weight of mount + tv will be 130 lbs...
wasserkool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:22 PM   #2

Open up the wall, cut some 2x6's to put between the studs, screw two of the 2x6's together and install between the studs using screws. Replace the drywall, apply tape and taping compound, sand and paint, bolt up the mount to the studs and 2x6's and hang the TV.

I've tested this method with all 280 lbs of my body weight and it's not going anywhere.

I have Pioneer PDP-5080HD hanging from this same setup without issue. I also had an older 50" LG Plasma hanging from it that weighed 130lbs by itself.
KHouse75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:33 PM   #3
Man of many hats