Philips Satelite TV Switch - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 09:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Philips Satelite TV switch


I bought a Philips satelite TV switch (SDW5007GN17)for my Bell (DishTV) receiver.
It has two inputs that connect to the two LNB's on the dish.
One input (A) is labelled 13v/14v. The other, input (B) is labelled 17v/18v.
There is no reference to voltages in the instruction and I'm puzzled about the significance of these different voltages.
I'm aware that the LNBs require power to be supplied from the satelite receiver, but I'm confused about the reason for dual voltages.
If anybody can enlighten me, about this, i would appreciate it.

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 11:08 AM   #2
Newbie
 
tonystewart1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern WV
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Philips Satelite TV switch


The switch you describe is a universal switch. Depending on who manufactured the LNB it may require one voltage range over another. Just look up who made the LNB and the voltage requirement should be listed.

Advertisement

tonystewart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Philips Satelite TV switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonystewart1 View Post
The switch you describe is a universal switch. Depending on who manufactured the LNB it may require one voltage range over another. Just look up who made the LNB and the voltage requirement should be listed.
Thanks for your reply Tony. I have found some additional info about his myself.
Apparently satellites transmit their signals with different polarities. Depending on the transducer.
One set transmits the signal in a right hand spiral and the other in a left one.
So to receive the left spiral you connect 13 volts and if you wish the LNB to receive the right hand spiral, its connected to 17 volts.
I think that if a receiver is connected directly to a LNB, the receiver changes the voltage to suit what ever channel is being used.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 11:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts