Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2013, 05:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Share |
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


does anybody have any experience with ota for hd/digital tv and what do you think vs sat. box for basic tv channel viewing?

hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 06:35 PM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


It really depends on where you live, i.e. how many channels you get, your orientation to them, the distance and terrain, etc. I cut my cable TV service a couple years ago and went to an attic antenna and don't regret it for a minute. I get all the major networks (including sub channels) plus PBS, ION, ThisTv and some odds and ends, all in HD. Plus I can stream a lot of stuff directly from the networks... plus I can use a generic DVR (my HTPC) to record entire seasons of shows to watch while ffwing through commercials. And I *really* don't miss paying for all the crap on cable that I never watched. And for more streaming options you can get a Roku box or similar.

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:26 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013 View Post
does anybody have any experience with ota for hd/digital tv and what do you think vs sat. box for basic tv channel viewing?
You are talking about something that has been around for what is going on now for around 60 years. What is it that you need to know about?

Really has not changed much in the way the signal is delivered from the Transmission point, to the receiver, other than it is now in the form of 1's & 0's in a Square wave, vs. an Analog Sine Wave.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 08:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


It's been about that long since I paid attention to it. I think I'm screwed any way. I live in a mountainous/hilly area. Punched my address into several websites and it doesn't look good. There is no local cable company to speak of. I currently have directv and was looking to get out from underneath them.
thanks
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:55 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Post your information, from tvfool.com. There are free air satellite solutions out there BTW.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 06:24 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46aed7401e7293
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. Central PA
Posts: 119
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


first off, dont buy any antenna made by terk, lol.

if youre that remote, and hilly, your only legitimate option is one of the old school jobs with all the long arms. they work, work quite well actually, and dont cost an arm and a leg.

the bees knees set up for you would be that, on a remote controlled rotator, to allow you to dial in specific channels from different directions.

just remember, if you go that route, to have the whole thing properly grounded/lightning proofed....ha ha.
Chokingdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chokingdogs For This Useful Post:
hpyjack2013 (12-04-2013)
Old 12-04-2013, 12:59 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013 View Post
An Antenna Direct DB8 with a Channel Master Cm-7777 or Cm-7778 pre-amp, and the antenna placed on a rotor, up above the roofline should work fine.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 01:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


gregzoll what would you think about the DB8e vs the DB8
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 01:35 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013 View Post
gregzoll what would you think about the DB8e vs the DB8
It does allow you multidirectional, without having to use a rotor, so that is a plus.

You will not need a separate VHF-hi, since the Db8 & e, both do Vhf 7-13, along with UHF. The only question is, what is the nearest highest object between you and the towers. There is a site that you can use for satellite aiming, that will tell you distance, and height of the nearest highest object, which can help you determine how high to go with this.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:32 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


that's my problem-I'm at the base of "sunset hill" depending on where satellite is I'd have to go up several hundred feet. You don't recall the name of the site do you?
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:39 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


This it:n2yo.com.
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:40 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


how do you find out what channels use what satellites?
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:47 PM   #14
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,052
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013
how do you find out what channels use what satellites?
?????

Satellite channels? You need Dish or Direct TV

OTA....UHF/VHF antenna...in your case, a tall one.

One advantage to HD OTA is that as long as you can get a signal, picture is good. Basically, it's all or nothing.

I have OTA. I get about 64 digital channels. Of course, only about 8 of them are in English.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 04:05 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Default

over the air antenna (ota)


Is it possible that some of the local channels won't use a satellite but just use antennas and repeaters

hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lifting and hoisting RWolff Safety 2 06-23-2013 01:43 AM
FIOS internet, and TV antenna sharing same line av-geek Home Theater 2 07-15-2012 12:28 PM
Pre-wired coaxial cable mapping & digital antenna set up BadHand Electrical 6 10-30-2011 09:37 PM
Do I need a digital antenna? darsunt Home Theater 9 02-12-2009 11:00 AM
large outdoor antenna mcvane Home Theater 22 09-08-2008 06:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.