Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2008, 03:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New coaxial outlet location


I moving my LCD TV to another location and I need to put a new outlet for the coaxial cable going into the TV. I read somewhere that suggest the coaxial outlet should be a least 8" from an electrical outlet or in another stud cavity to prevent interference. Sorry if this is a stupid question but is this true? Thanks, in advance, for any input.

shimkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 10:55 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

New coaxial outlet location


One reason, is to make it easier to pull the wire, so that it does not get tangled with anything else that may be in the stud cavity. Also, just looks cleaner. If one box is on the stud to the left, the other box can be to the next stud over with no problems.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 11:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 05:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 09:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.