Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 11:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Hi all – I have a 39” LED TV that weighs 39 lbs. I am using a VideoSecu slim wall mount to mount it.

Wall mount

To center the TV on the wall, I can only secure it to ONE stud with 2 screws. Is one stud enough to hold up the TV? I can also use dyrwall heavy duty anchor on the sides to add additional protection.

Drywall anchor

I don’t plan on ever moving the TV or tilting it.

Will my TV be secure?

majch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:39 AM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,101
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


You see that mount has 2 vertical arms?
They both have to be attached to studs!

sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


the verical arms are for the tv, the flat plate with all the holes is the wall why can't you mount it to two studs? the plate should land on at least two.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:26 PM   #4
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 702
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


You will be fine, assuming you are correct on weight.
A couple of 3" lag bolts into the stud then heavy duty anchors will be no problem.
The lags would easily hold the weight, but not very stable moving or tilting the tv.
Usually just set it at angle you want and leave it though.
The anchors pictured below are rated at something like 40 pounds each.
1 in each corner with lags in the stud, and I am comfortable with it.
I have a 32" in the bedroom set the same way, feels very secure.

My 50" in the living room weighs 3 times as much, no way I would trust this method.
Attached Images
 
__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


in my last house i had two tv's mounted to the wall, one stud each, thats all the tv mounts could be used. much rather have them on two studs or a larger base.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


That mount doesn't allow any adjustment after the TV is mounted. Can you secure the lateral bracket at it's center, and fasten the two ends with wng nut type mollys?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:02 PM   #7
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by redman88 View Post
the verical arms are for the tv, the flat plate with all the holes is the wall why can't you mount it to two studs? the plate should land on at least two.
exactly, those slots are to allow you to mount it on two studs.

unless of course your studs are farther apart than the mount is wide, which I would find strange.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:45 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


I've ran into this issue. Place where the TV has to be mounted has studs that are too far apart (more than 24"). I can mount my bracket on one stud, and I purchased some drywall mounts that are supposed to hold 300 lbs, according to the package. I also have paneling over the drywall. I have not installed it yet because I am hesitant to mount it to one stud. TV is 40"
wkumtrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:35 PM   #9
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by wkumtrider View Post
I've ran into this issue. Place where the TV has to be mounted has studs that are too far apart (more than 24"). I can mount my bracket on one stud, and I purchased some drywall mounts that are supposed to hold 300 lbs, according to the package. I also have paneling over the drywall. I have not installed it yet because I am hesitant to mount it to one stud. TV is 40"
I would remove some drywall and put blocking between two studs. repair drywall. mount to blocking.

more than 24 sounds like some different stud spacing. Is you house cunstructed in a manner different than the norm of 16 or 24 on center spacing?
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bbo For This Useful Post:
Dave Sal (07-07-2013)
Old 12-28-2012, 10:32 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KY
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


I think it is just in the area where I want to mount the TV, which is the only place to mount it in the living room. I would remove drywall and add bracing but the walls are also covered with paneling. I would not be able to get the paneling to look right if I removed a section of it. Are there paneling repair kits on the market?
wkumtrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:55 PM   #11
Member
 
GanJa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


I am having a similar issue. So i just bought a Samsung 32" LED TV and its only 5 kg. I think i am aite with mounting it to one stud as the tv is not very heavy but my other concern is how do you guys hide the cable when mounting tv on wall? My power switch is like 4ft below where i am mounting the tv. Can i fish power cable and hdmi cable thru the wall? Thanks i hope someone replies.
GanJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:06 PM   #12
Deck Staining Pro
 
bigchaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pittsboro, NC
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by GanJa View Post
I am having a similar issue. So i just bought a Samsung 32" LED TV and its only 5 kg. I think i am aite with mounting it to one stud as the tv is not very heavy but my other concern is how do you guys hide the cable when mounting tv on wall? My power switch is like 4ft below where i am mounting the tv. Can i fish power cable and hdmi cable thru the wall? Thanks i hope someone replies.
HDMI and RGA and that type wire, yes and they make cut out boxes that you can put the cable through. But its not recommended to run the power cord in that manner behind the wall. Best way is to install another outlet directly behind the TV to plug in for power.
__________________
Charlie Soden
Apex DeckSavers
NC Deck Powerwashing, Deck Cleaning and Staining
"Bringing New life to Old Wood"
bigchaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:42 PM   #13
Member
 
GanJa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchaz View Post
HDMI and RGA and that type wire, yes and they make cut out boxes that you can put the cable through. But its not recommended to run the power cord in that manner behind the wall. Best way is to install another outlet directly behind the TV to plug in for power.
Any tutorial on how to install the power switch? whats the harm in fishing power cable thru wall?
GanJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:03 AM   #14
Deck Staining Pro
 
bigchaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pittsboro, NC
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by GanJa View Post

Any tutorial on how to install the power switch? whats the harm in fishing power cable thru wall?
I believe you can buy something like an electrical relocation kit or some audio visual supply houses have an outlet combined with an access hole to run your low voltage (component) wires in. Power cord through the wall would not be code compliant and could pose a fire hazard in the event of overheating.

Im redoing my living room this week if I get a chance ill snap a picture of my wiring before I pull the tv down
__________________
Charlie Soden
Apex DeckSavers
NC Deck Powerwashing, Deck Cleaning and Staining
"Bringing New life to Old Wood"
bigchaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:19 AM   #15
Member
 
funfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 702
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting TV to one stud


GanJa, what is on other side of the wall?

We just did one remodel, where home owner had a extra HUGE living room.
We took 10' deep and 20' long off of it and turned into closets for bedrooms on other side of wall.
On the new wall we built where the tv will go, we put a 2" pvc pipe through the wall.
Now all the cables, the a/v gear will be in the next room behind tv and out of sight.
You may not have that option.

You can run them in the wall, if you cut a 3"x6" hole behind the tv, then directly below cut another hole. Drop the wires down and fish them out.
But how would you finish the hole below? Will simply be a hole in the wall with a bunch of wires coming out of it.

You could modify the idea above, would need to open the drywall.
Put a 90 above, a piece of straight pipe with another 90 below.
Then when you patch the drywall, can finish with mud right around the pipe / chase you made, will be easy to run the wires in and out of it, looks like it belongs there and not just a hole in the wall.

__________________
If it was easy, we would not call it work!
funfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mounting TV on a double stud? dukewalsh Home Theater 4 01-11-2012 10:10 PM
mounting light to metal ceiling stud? mpelleg459 Remodeling 2 04-24-2011 07:54 AM
Steel Stud Box Mounting mj876 Electrical 6 02-27-2010 02:16 PM
Moving a Stud HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 5 02-23-2010 01:11 AM
Stud mounting on Aluminum studs DK75 General DIY Discussions 2 02-17-2006 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.