Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2007, 10:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Losing power, length? size?


I have my tv audio hooked into my home stereo, it is an older midsize system with only one set of "in's", so I put in a Y to hook up the audio from my computer which holds my music library, when I play the music from my computer, it is much quieter than the sound coming from the cabletv audio (which comes from the from the same "Y"), is this because of the length (about 8 ft) of my wires coming from the computer? if so is there any way to make the sound come out equal so I dont have to crank the stereo 70% to have it at a decent decible & risk my kid or buddy turning on the TV not knowing its going to blow his ear drums? I assume the guage of these cables are standard, unlike speaker wire. Any ideas?
Kellxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:11 AM   #2
not a total Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 51
Default

Losing power, length? size?


Turn up the computer volume? If it's anything like mine, you can turn up the main volume, the wav/mp3 volume, and probably even the volume on whatever software you're using.
space_coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 09:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 435
Default

Losing power, length? size?


A line level preamp will fix this issue....


Just do a "google" for stereo line level amp.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 10:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Losing power, length? size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by space_coyote View Post
Turn up the computer volume? If it's anything like mine, you can turn up the main volume, the wav/mp3 volume, and probably even the volume on whatever software you're using.

this is one of the first things I checked, theyre all cranked to the max,


.... thanks for the info on that line level amp, I will look into this
Kellxr7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Losing power, length? size?


Second on the pre-amp.

When you split an input with a Y, the input at the stereo will see a different impedence level then it would if you only had a single item hooked up. Thus effecting the ovarall sound level it receives. Combine this with the low levels that computers put out anyway and you will have a pretty low sound level coming into your stereo.
renfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 11:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Losing power, length? size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kellxr7 View Post
I have my tv audio hooked into my home stereo, it is an older midsize system with only one set of "in's", so I put in a Y to hook up the audio from my computer which holds my music library, ?
Use a switch box, not Y-connectors, to funnel multiple audio sources into a single set of inputs. Otherwise the sound quality can be degraded, even if all the sources except the desired source are turned off.

The length and size of the cables probably doe snot affect the volume of the sound in your case.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
power line noise sciguy125 Electrical 5 12-02-2007 01:39 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.