Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2008, 02:16 PM   #16
Roof Cleaning Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: tampa
Posts: 30
Share |
Default

large outdoor antenna


Quote:
Originally Posted by bofusmosby View Post
I hear that about channel 10. Its tough to get with rabbit ears. I just broke down and got basic cable again. For the price with the phone, unlimited long distance, and the high-speed internet connection, its costing me about $17 more a month. I originally had my cable disconnected back in 92. The $24 was getting to be too much!
Can't beat that
I live in Brandon, most TV stations EXCEPT ch 10 broadcast from Riverview.
Ch 10 broadcasts from Pinellas County, so unless you have a rotor ....
I have Verizon BUSINESS FIOS, so the all in one deal dont go for me
apple roof cleaning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:26 PM   #17
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

large outdoor antenna


Instead of using a rotor antenna, you can use what is called a "piggy-back" antenna. A second antenna is mounted on the same pole, except that one is aimed towards New Port Richey. In this way, a rotor is not needed, and you can still get channel 10 without having to turning the antenna.

Bofus
bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:20 PM   #18
Roof Cleaning Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: tampa
Posts: 30
Default

large outdoor antenna


They used to sell these back in Detroit in the 70's
They had a seperate antenna aimed at Canada to get TV Ch 9, and the main antenna aimed at Southfield, Michigan.
Hard to find em anymore.
No big deal, I simply aim my outside antenna at Ch 10, and I simply cut my rear elements a bit to destroy the antennas front to back ratio

Now, I get everything just fine
apple roof cleaning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 03:33 AM   #19
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

large outdoor antenna


I have seen some people do what seems to be some really off the wall things, but the truth be told, if it works, then you can't argue with success. In case you should decide to put up one of those piggy-back antennas, Dow electronics sell them. They are located on Highway 60, between Tampa and Brandon. I don't know if they sell retail or not though. You might want to call them first to be sure. However, if yours is working fine, you don't need it!
bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 07:30 AM   #20
Roof Cleaning Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: tampa
Posts: 30
Default

large outdoor antenna


Yeah, Dow is close to me!
But it's working fine.
Most outdoor TV antennas are either based on Yagi or Log Periodic antenna design.
Or, a combination of both.
The longest elements in these types of designs are called reflectors.
The shortest ones are called directors.
Just cutting 1 inch off each side of the reflector element was enough.
Looking foreward to watching the Bucs in HD today!
apple roof cleaning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:27 AM   #21
Member
 
bofusmosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 396
Default

large outdoor antenna


Yup, once you go HD, you never want to go back to SD. Go BUCS!!!!
bofusmosby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:33 AM   #22
Don't know it all, yet!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Metro Atlanta, GA
Posts: 910
Default

large outdoor antenna


Quote:
I was wondering if anyone could tell me if I would need to run a cable directly from the top of the antenna to my tv? or does the antenna (the fact that it's grounded on my property) itself automatically ground to something metal inside?
I may have missed the answer to this in the other information. If so, I apologize.

Get a grounding block and insert it into the line where convenient. Maybe two dollars at Radio Shack, etc. Line from antenna into one end, out the other end to TV. Tap in the middle for attaching ground wire. I have a ground rod directly beside where the antenna mast goes in the ground. G rod goes deeper, gets better contact with earth. Some say that antenna should be eventually grounded at the house ground which is fine if the antenna mast is close to the service entrance. At my shop it is, and the gounding clamp for the service ground has two taps on it so I didn't even have to spend the $2.25 for another clamp, and it is about fifteen feet from the mast. At my house it is not, so I installed another grounding rod. Grounding block there is attached to the mast about knee high, just comfortable to reach, maybe three feet of ground wire to the G rod.

Coax doesn't have to go straight to the TV. It can, or you can put an amp or splitter in there somewhere if need be.
__________________
If it's worth doing, it's worth doing right. If you wouldn't put your name on it, it ain't done right!
downunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 06:26 AM   #23
newer than a newbie...
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Default

large outdoor antenna


Hi Guys.

Quite a lot of good replies here! I have a few more questions.

I was however, wondering, how do you adjust/move/get up to the antenna that is 30 feet up?!

Is there supposed to be an electrical or mechanical mechanism that twists the rod at the very top?

Also, how do I get those birds to not sit on the antenna? I feel like Fred Flintstone some days, wishing they would go away!!

I have difficulties climbing a step-ladder, but are the antenna's designed for you to climb up them?

I am getting a lot of channels, but funny how some UHF channels that are based in my city (downtown Toronto) have a lot more interference than signals I'm catching across Lake Ontario (Buffalo, Rochester). I'm on the eastern edge of Toronto, so I suppose that doesn't help getting Toronto reception.

Thanks for your help!
mcvane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
large leaking tar flat roof erbilliards Roofing/Siding 2 03-16-2008 11:59 AM
large mystery plywood panel in garage - any thoughts on this?! joeyboy General DIY Discussions 15 12-02-2007 03:01 PM
How do you Lay Large Tiles over Plywood Subfloor? 1655graff Flooring 20 10-01-2007 05:28 PM
going from 220 large wire to 220 small? bonedoc Electrical 7 08-06-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.