Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

How to install cable in walls


Would like to install cable for my tv's in the walls . How would I start?

bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,389
Rewards Points: 108
Default

How to install cable in walls


Interier, exterier?
Is there access from above or below?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


you can do something like this

epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:32 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

How to install cable in walls


Paper and pencil helps. Knowing what all you are pulling for also helps. I love it that I have a basement and can just come up through the floor where I pulled Cat-5e for our UVerse boxes. Just pulled out four runs of Cat-5e that is no longer being used, due to removed a desktop, two were not being used, and changed our minds on the pull for what we were going to put into the Kitchen, since Wireless is becoming more of the mainstream for home networking.

Sad thing is, Satellite & CATV companies have not caught up to ATT and others using IPTV, that can use Wireless-N to send a HD signal to the set top boxes.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:07 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


Ok I got my box in the wall, and ran cable and cat5e into 2 rooms .
question : How do you tell the difference from cat5e and cat6 cable
I went to Home Depot to got the female end and it has on it A or B? color code for the cat5? And what is the best tool to get for this project , also need to get a good compression tool to do the cable ends.



bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 515
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How to install cable in walls


For the coax:

Cable Pro LCCT-1 Compression Crimp Tool will be the best choice.

Use the ICM FS6U Compression fittings.


Bear in mind that these are a one time use fitting. Get them right the first time and they'll never come off. Get them wrong and they'll never come off...

For the Cat5e/6:

Platinum Tools EZ-RJ45 tool is the absolute best (works with both the EZ and the standard fittings).

Use the EZ RJ45's with it as they're easier for the average DIY'er to use.

Use either the "A" or "B" (as long as you terminate both ends exactly the same it'll work).

You may want to use some Leviton, or other, keystone wall plates and snap in plugs. If so, you also need a 110 punch down tool (Pass & Seymour).



All of this stuff is available on Ebay, or Amazon.
ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


Where is the best place to order these tools ? All I have is Home Depot and Lowes near me and I think they carry "Klein" "Ideal" only.
The cat5e that I use had both ends already done up , had to snip one end off to be able to run the cable thru the wall , I did save the ends that was cut off . So how do I know witch color code to follow A or B?
using the
EZ RJ45's



bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:36 AM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

How to install cable in walls


You should have ordered everything online and saved a few bucks. As for the Cat-5e, the bulk is in the aisle, you just have to look for it on usually on the shelving behind where the a/v com cables are.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


gregzoll, I've used 2 '50 that I had laying around I snip one end off to run thru the wall and got a :
http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...1#.UQr69fKNPl8
I just need to know witch color code I need to set up A or B for a cat5e
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:39 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

How to install cable in walls


It is your choice which you want to use. Just make sure you use the same scheme on all jacks. Also usually that pre-made cable is actually stranded, not solid, so it uses different crimp connectors, but will work with normal Keystones.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:00 PM   #11
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
gregzoll, I've used 2 '50 that I had laying around I snip one end off to run thru the wall and got a :
http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...1#.UQr69fKNPl8
I just need to know witch color code I need to set up A or B for a cat5e

look at either end to see how its in the jack. most i see is 568B. but you never know.

taking a pic with your phone and blowing it up helps to see the color sometimes.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:10 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

How to install cable in walls


bbo, pre-termed wires, and jumpers are wired 568b, that includes cross-overs. Jacks that go into the wall are usually wired 568A, but as I stated before, it is up to the person to decide which they use for their standard. Just that they need to make sure all jacks are wired the same way.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:19 PM   #13
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
bbo, pre-termed wires, and jumpers are wired 568b, that includes cross-overs. Jacks that go into the wall are usually wired 568A, but as I stated before, it is up to the person to decide which they use for their standard. Just that they need to make sure all jacks are wired the same way.
he clipped off one end of a premade. like I said, usually B, but you never know. Always look.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How to install cable in walls


cat5e is "A" standard color code and cat6 is "B" color code
You still can have a cat6 patch cord connected to a cat5e and
have no problem .



bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know where to begin! Coaxial cable install. Jebus Electrical 8 08-30-2012 07:58 AM
Bowing Walls - Pony Wall DoItMyselfToo Building & Construction 0 02-23-2011 11:21 PM
How do you install a walk-in shower in a basement with floating walls? ronquillor Tiling, ceramics, marble 1 02-20-2010 04:57 PM
Paint walls or install trim? raida357 Painting 14 11-12-2009 05:19 AM
removing concrete parging from basement foundation walls. newzev Remodeling 1 07-24-2009 08:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.