Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2009, 04:41 PM   #1
Handyman/ Snow Removal
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Share |
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Hey guys,
I've got a coax cable coming into a room going to a two way splitter. Off the splitter comes the internet and phone. I need to have 2 cables coming out of there as well. I've tried the 4 way amplifier splitter, the internet and phone wouldn't work. I tried a non amplifying splitter, cable, and the internet works, just not the phone.
Any ideas?
McGaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quote:
Originally Posted by McGaw View Post
Hey guys,
I've got a coax cable coming into a room going to a two way splitter. Off the splitter comes the internet and phone. I need to have 2 cables coming out of there as well. I've tried the 4 way amplifier splitter, the internet and phone wouldn't work. I tried a non amplifying splitter, cable, and the internet works, just not the phone.
Any ideas?
Amps dont play well with devices that send data.

What are the new 2 coaxes going to be used for?

What cables do you have? rg/59, rg/6?

Would it be easy to run new coax?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:20 PM   #3
Home Theater Guy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Is there a splitter before the feed to the room? You may not have enought signal. Try the following, a 2-way splitter into 2 2-way splitters. Internet and phone on one, your other feeds on the other.
Greg C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 09:12 PM   #4
Handyman/ Snow Removal
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 54
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


The two new coax cables will be for cable
McGaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:57 AM   #5
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Amps dont play well with devices that send data.

What are the new 2 coaxes going to be used for?

What cables do you have? rg/59, rg/6?

Would it be easy to run new coax?
What is the difference between rg/59 and rg/6? Is one preferred over the other?
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:05 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quote:
Originally Posted by McGaw View Post
The two new coax cables will be for cable

Is there a splitter before this room? You may get grainy tv signal, or may not.

Try this, 3-way, 3.5 db port to a 2-way for internet and phone, other 2 for tv.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenknee View Post
What is the difference between rg/59 and rg/6? Is one preferred over the other?

The attenuation and capacity

http://www.marine-electronics.net/te...t_features.htm

Notice how satellite signals don't work well on rg/59.

Rg/6 has an 18awg center wire. Rg/59 has a 22 awg, rg/11 has a 14 awg center wire. Most coax has a steel, copper coated wire instead of all copper, since all copper doesn't make a big difference with normal use.

Last edited by rgsgww; 01-26-2009 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Steel part...it didn't make sense.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 11:46 AM   #8
Home Theater Guy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 47
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


RG-59 is 20 awg. Solid copper is recomended for satellite use, and if you are using it for a audio/video signal instead of RF.
Greg C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 12:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg C View Post
RG-59 is 20 awg. Solid copper is recomended for satellite use, and if you are using it for a audio/video signal instead of RF.
RG/59 could be either 20,21,22, or 23 AWG. The RG numbers do not have physical specifications associated with them.

Last edited by jerryh3; 01-26-2009 at 12:52 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Help with coax PROBLEM


Quad shield is another story. I use it since my old work runs are near AC.

Rg/6 works just fine.

I would ditch rg/59 altogether...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral problem, not sure what to do now BataviaJim Electrical 37 01-03-2009 11:00 AM
Electrical "arcing" problem? morden5b Electrical 17 12-17-2008 06:10 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
GMP100-3 Problem hansim4 HVAC 2 12-13-2007 03:55 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.