Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 04:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


One time I saw a wooden egg shape use to keep your drill bit center to the stud an away from dry wall and I can't remember who sold it or where?
Does any one know what talking about , I guest you would slide it down your extended drill bit and it would keep the bit center between the wall.

bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 04:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


I can not think of any possible reason you would need one.
Just drill them by eye.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 07:04 PM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,924
Rewards Points: 3,002
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


+1

Speaker wire is small.

Just eyeball it.

If you want to shoot them level in a row, just tie off a string on either side.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 08:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Just want to make sure it was centered between the 2x4's I'm also running cat 6 wire going down and with this wooden egg shape makes your drill bit center of the 2x4 with out any guessing.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 09:34 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
Just want to make sure it was centered between the 2x4's I'm also running cat 6 wire going down and with this wooden egg shape makes your drill bit center of the 2x4 with out any guessing.
Never seen anything like that in my lifetime. Always done it by eyeballing aprox. center.

BTW, how many cables are you running? It probably would be better to just use Smurf Tube from a central pull point, and then come down either through the attic if no second floor, or up through the crawlspace or basement, if not on a slab.

Is this a house remodel, or a house build in progress?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 08:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


I have to go both up into the Attic with speaker wire and cat 5 and speaker wire going down. We had bought a new modular house an moved in last Dec. the basement is unfinished . In Modular every thing runs up and over then down to where they put the electrical box.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 12:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,125
Rewards Points: 2,450
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


I'm assuming this is because you don't have access to the studs - you're trying to go behind the drywall, correct? And this is why you can't eyeball it?
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 02:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


The wall where I want to drill is on the main wall where on a Modular House would be where both half's come together so I think the wall is on a support beam?
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 08:06 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


That's called the marriage wall. They are not always on a support beam. It depends how far that wall runs without being supported. If the basement isn't finished you can easily see if there is a beam there. Either way there will be what is essentially a rim joist there so it would be really hard to get through it vertically unless you just angle through the top edge. Sometimes they double or triple that lumber up for strength. Small chance that the base plate might be slightly further over than those beams.

Last edited by mikegp; 03-14-2014 at 08:23 AM.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 12:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 967
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
BTW, how many cables are you running? It probably would be better to just use Smurf Tube from a central pull point, and then come down either through the attic if no second floor, or up through the crawlspace or basement, if not on a slab.
I like this idea much better.
Personally speaking, I don't like the idea of burying audio/video/computer cables in walls and other unaccessible places. This industry changes and upgrades so rapidly that it's worth trying to find ways to run cable so it's all accessible for easy updating/upgrading.
Bob Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 08:34 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


I believe these are closed walls so a smurf tube would require some extensive demo and drywall work. Doesn't sound like something he wants to do, but who knows.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 08:32 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


This pic shows the second half of the wall , The other half is where I want to drill it will be between the small door opening on the far left and big opening in the center next to it ,{This pic is before both boxes are tied toghter}
Attached Thumbnails
Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire-house-set-up-10-4-2012-012.jpg  
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 10:51 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Can you post a pic of the marriage line from the basement and from the attic? That long of a distance should have a beam under it for support. Are you just trying to run cable from the attic straight to the basement or do you need to go horizontally through a wall?

Last edited by mikegp; 03-18-2014 at 10:53 AM.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 01:51 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Modular Home have all wires going thru the attic and across to end of the box then down to the power box. So drilling down anywhere should be easy. I don't a pic of the beam in the basement at this time . I did notice that the contractor did run his wires across underneath the beam , so I will have to be careful not to hit them.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 07:56 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 925
Rewards Points: 672
Default

Drill holes in Studs for Speaker Wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
Modular Home have all wires going thru the attic and across to end of the box then down to the power box. So drilling down anywhere should be easy. I don't a pic of the beam in the basement at this time . I did notice that the contractor did run his wires across underneath the beam , so I will have to be careful not to hit them.
Good modulars don't run all the wiring in the attic. Top floor lights and any hvac in the attic would obviously have wire runs up there, but well built ones run the wires like you would in a normal home toward the corner where the electric panel will be located and then leave 20+ feet of extra cable to run down through the first floor to the basement or wherever the panel is.

mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running wire through cabinets or jack studs Malcolm Electrical 4 09-19-2013 09:47 PM
Splice or replace entire wire? Septic Pump bsmith6356 Electrical 5 03-18-2013 07:44 PM
Drill holes through cement tile? Dwillems Roofing/Siding 9 03-07-2012 11:50 PM
Best tool to drill holes in Porcelain tile theedudenator Tiling, ceramics, marble 6 12-09-2009 07:44 PM
How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire popkadurak Remodeling 10 06-16-2006 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.