Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2007, 03:35 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Share |
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


No, due to CATV tuners use IR remotes, not RF. And with RF remotes, each remote is set to the specific channel for that tuner.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 06:39 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
No, due to CATV tuners use IR remotes, not RF. And with RF remotes, each remote is set to the specific channel for that tuner.
Could you please explain? I don't understand HOW you can program a RF remote to change only my living room tv's cable box and not the others in the room.
Bacardi 151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 09:45 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Your TV & CATV converter do not use RF (Radio Frequency) for the remote. It uses IR (Infra-Red) technology. Currently the only tech that is seen in homes widespread that use RF tech for the remotes, is Satellite boxes such as Dish, which use a A,B,C,D channel for assigning a channel to a particular remote, especially if you have more then one box, and more then one remote.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:15 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 88
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundbroker View Post
Two observations. First, whenever you run cables thru the wall, make sure they are fire code rated or run in a code rated conduit. Doing otherwise is an excuse for an insurance company to deny a claim should there ever be a fire (it HAS happened). This is particularly true for speaker cables.

Second, if you mount gear in a closed closet or cabinet, you always need to make certain you provide for cooling. I've seen too many systems that were overtemping. Otherwise...enjoy!
hmmm, I'll have to tell the owner of my A/V company that we've been screwing all of our residential clients for the past 12 years.

We only have to (by NEC) run plenum rated wire in Commercial buildings and we never HAVE to run our wire in conduit (we will rough in conduit for HDMI cables etc). Maybe that's just the codes in the mountains? We did do a job last year in a county that didn't even do FRAMING inspections much less electrical.

I have never heard the things you are saying, even when we've had clients houses burn down.................... sorry I love all of these smilies.

Seriously, we have homes that have low voltage trunklines that measure 12" in DIAMETER. Would we have to make a rediculous series of conduit swept Y's and drops to make insurance cover the house? It would look like a central vac system on steroids. Or just make the customer spend the extra 100% for the plenum wire? Just wondering. They already faint at the prices.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment."
keyser soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:16 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 88
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Oh, almost forgot, Dustin, congrats on the new setup and thank you (and your floors thank you) for getting professionally made brackets.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment."
keyser soze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 03:05 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


I've been playing around with a home system of my own where I have a TV on one side of the room and a video projector projecting onto a pull down screen on another side of the room. The cunning bit that I have been working on is a single rotary switch that shuffles the surround sound speakers around so that it works for either sitting position, either TV or projector.

I'm writing up how I did all this, as well as how i chose the rest of the system, take a look at How I did my home Cinema System and let me know your thoughts!

thanks
ajwt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 05:01 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 30
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


I know this post is very old, but I'm getting ready to do this, and wanted to know if the RF was still something you would recommend?
Did you ever post pictures?
Thanks,
K.
kswoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kswoot View Post
I know this post is very old, but I'm getting ready to do this, and wanted to know if the RF was still something you would recommend?
Did you ever post pictures?
Thanks,
K.
Logitech 890 remote comes with a RF extender which is works flawlessly! You can find them on blowouts on amazon or ebay auctions for around $100 shipped. It's very cool as it has a LCD screen.
Bacardi 151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:44 PM   #24
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by keyser soze View Post
We only have to (by NEC) run plenum rated wire in Commercial buildings and we never HAVE to run our wire in conduit (we will rough in conduit for HDMI cables etc). Maybe that's just the codes in the mountains? We did do a job last year in a county that didn't even do FRAMING inspections much less electrical.
He's not talking about running plenum rated wire, he's talking about running wire thats rated to be IN-WALL use.

Same as your HDMI cables, they better be CL2 or CL3 rated for in wall use...

Last edited by chris75; 10-01-2008 at 09:48 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:50 PM   #25
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Also, just so everyone knows, you cannot run power cords through walls or ceilings.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 05:00 AM   #26
New owner, older house
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 30
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


I'm glad this post was brought back to life--we're getting ready to take on the same type of project. good information!
Taz38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:15 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 30
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Too bad no one has responded though! I am very interested in knowing more about the RF remote that allows you to have your equipment in another room. Sounds too good to be true!
kswoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 03:27 PM   #28
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kswoot View Post
Too bad no one has responded though! I am very interested in knowing more about the RF remote that allows you to have your equipment in another room. Sounds too good to be true!

Just about any electronic store sells them, RF is built in with my directv receivers, so its a non issue, but go to Best buy or circuit city.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 03:32 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta,GA
Posts: 30
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Thank, Chris.
kswoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 03:35 PM   #30
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

DIY, hide your equipment!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kswoot View Post
Thank, Chris.

You should be able to find what your looking for, You can also try Smarthome, http://www.smarthome.com/_/Remotes_I.../_/5/land.aspx

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding for Pool Equipment Elecman Electrical 9 03-23-2010 03:09 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Buying HVAC Equipment EarthCreepin HVAC 3 08-01-2008 09:00 PM
Hide deck board ends bardad1022 Carpentry 4 06-08-2007 08:55 AM
Equipment Kentech HVAC 1 07-10-2004 01:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.