Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ?? - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2015, 04:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
NorPlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


Not the least bit Tech Savy , Curious if I can Find a Local TV Channel without raising an Antenna ?? We dropped the Cable TV via Satellite a few months back.. We still have the Apple TV & Netflix hooked up.. The Home Phone & Internet are accessed via WiFi.. My Question , is there a Setting I can click onto to bring up a local TV Channel without having to Install an Antenna ?? The nearest Transmission Tower is approximately 3km's away as the Crow Flies ' were surrounded by Bush (Rural).. Cheers , Thanks

Advertisement

NorPlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:37 PM   #2
Member
 
GrayHair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 292
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


I doubt it. TV antennas are designed to be efficient in TV frequency bands and inefficient outside TV bands. Combined with an impedance matched transmission line (coaxial cable), they provide the path to get the signal to your TV.


You can go to TV Fool, enter your address and get a report of what channels you might receive.

Advertisement

__________________
Any mention of codes is based on NFPA 70 and/or 72, as applicable, because they are the most widely adopted codes in the US. Local amendments may modify the code adopted in your area, so consult your local codes official.
GrayHair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GrayHair For This Useful Post:
Dave Sal (08-23-2015)
Old 08-19-2015, 07:10 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,121
Rewards Points: 1,158
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


You will need an antenna, but you don't need to put up a tower or mount it to your chimney. Google "rabbit ears antenna". Sure, you will get better reception with an antenna on a 30 foot tower, but the indoor rabbit ears will work fine if you have nearby transmitters.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 07:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 990
Rewards Points: 1,903
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


It depends on whether the locals in your area are using the VFH or UFH band.

The first step is to tell you TV to search for broadcast channels. This is done in you TV menu. There is no such thing as an HD antenna. An antenna is an antenna. A pair of rabbit ears, an old UHF indoor antenna or even a metal coat hanger bent into a 12" circle combined with a coax converter (300 OHM to 75Ohm) and a short length of coax may be all you need.

The converter is required because modern TVs only have coax inputs.

I have a homemade antenna in the upstairs of my house that pulls 18 stations with a better signal quality than we can get from the cable company. Not bad for something made from scrap #10 copper wire, some boards and a few screws.
__________________
Colbyt
I often use the Thanks button as a ditto button or +1 button.
Colbyt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 07:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,121
Rewards Points: 1,158
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


Rabbit ears are commonly sold with coax cable output, so it should plug right in. But around here, all stations now transmit a digital signal. If your TV is more than roughly 8 years old, you probably need a digital to analog converter box to use the signal.

Where are you located?

Last edited by SPS-1; 08-19-2015 at 07:48 AM.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:12 AM   #6
Newbie
 
NorPlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS-1 View Post
Rabbit ears are commonly sold with coax cable output, so it should plug right in. But around here, all stations now transmit a digital signal. If your TV is more than roughly 8 years old, you probably need a digital to analog converter box to use the signal.

Where are you located?
Flat Screen TV.. Eastern Ontario..(Rural / Shadow of the Peace Tower..lol..) As I said we still have the Apple TV / Netflix hooked up.. I had thought there was a way of Clicking On another Setting to be able to bring up a local channel..

Last edited by NorPlan; 08-20-2015 at 06:15 AM.
NorPlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 06:30 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,121
Rewards Points: 1,158
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


There is a "setting". You will find an "input" setting for where the TV gets its signal. You have several different inputs --- probably one or more HDMI inputs, internet input, probably component input, possibly S-video input, possibly composite input, and an antenna input. On the TV menu, you can select which input you want to view from. So if you want to view over-the-air channels, you select to view from antenna. But you still need some signal going to that input, and to get a signal to the antennae input, you need an antenna.

Last edited by SPS-1; 08-20-2015 at 06:59 AM.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 09:05 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 300
Default

Disconnected Cable TV / Search For Local Channels ??


To make the input setting change from 'cable' to 'tv', use the original tv remote control.

If you can connect a 10 to 20 foot piece of old coax cable to the back of the tv and hold the other end near a window (tape it to the window?) facing the towers, you may get some transmission signal. can test by scanning for channels.

If you are willing to butcher the window end of the cable by cutting off the screw in part, peel back a bit of outer casing, pull some of the shielding shrands into a solid 'cable', separate that from the center solid wire and expose some, you've built a really crude antenna that should get an even stronger signal.

If you still have the satellite company cable going to your rooftop, you might consider using it on your chimney or other roof location with a small antenna or try it from your attic even. Just connect that cable to your tv's co ax antenna input.

Colbyt is right that any clear HD signal you can pull in over the air is not compressed in any way by a cable or satellite company and is therefore clearer.

Advertisement

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTD Products 22 inch Snowblower drive cable Aggie67 Tools 0 03-02-2014 05:24 PM
Extending and covering phone cable in closet Dorado Electrical 5 03-28-2013 10:09 AM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts