Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2014, 09:42 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Share |
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


taylorjim, UVerse is limited to how many active recordings or viewings, depending on how far from the VRad. DirecTV you are limited with Genie how many slave units to the DVR.

What the OP needs to do is put down needs and wants. Then depending on who their provider is, design the equipment around it.

They already know what infrastructure they need, but are stuck in the mindset how we thought of doing this stuff 25 years ago.

I do not even know if the OP realizes there is a better way of doing what they want, instead of going with a setup that you would see in a Bar.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 09:11 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 154
Rewards Points: 0
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


What my goal is too do, is to have the receivers in the server room, so i can just mount the tv on the wall and not have all the receivers in that room, and make the tv look clean.
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 09:26 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


Quote:
Originally Posted by humberguy View Post
What my goal is too do, is to have the receivers in the server room, so i can just mount the tv on the wall and not have all the receivers in that room, and make the tv look clean.
Then get DirecTV and go with the Samsung flatscreens that work with Direct. If you are using another provider, you are talking about a setup that is going to cost you a lot more then you realize.

Most of these installs start out around $34k just for the materials and equipment needed to do a proper setup.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:05 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 44
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


Quote:
Originally Posted by humberguy View Post
What my goal is too do, is to have the receivers in the server room, so i can just mount the tv on the wall and not have all the receivers in that room, and make the tv look clean.
You can make the tv look clean without complicating the issue by placing receivers 100's of feet away in a server room. You can place receivers/streamers in a cupboard or a drawer, use ir repeaters for control of the machines. It's done all the time.

I think what you first need to do is sit and think about what kind of video you want to your tv's. Do you want regular cable, or satellite... Do you want to have a central server with hard drives with ripped movies/tv shows. Do you want each tv to be independent form the other so you can watch different things on different tv's at the same time? All of this will decide what cable and boxes will need to be placed where.

Keeping your devices in the same room doesn't mean you need to display them (or have a bunch of wires visible). They can work while hidden. In fact my kitchen tv works on a hidden cable box. All you see is the tv on the wall... no wires, no box. Granted I did get a little inventive in that situation.... I took the ir receiver led out of the cable box and mounted inside the tv beside the tv ir LED, but the point is that I have total control over the tv, a short run of hdmi, and with the box inside the cupboard, no wires visible.

But the first step here is to decide what you viewing situation will be because personally, I think you're going about things a bit wrong here.
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 07:32 PM   #20
JPL
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


Cat6A is the way to go for hdmi. You only need one for video, one for ethernet(I avoid using the transmit/receive units for Ethernet), and one for control. Cat5e is fine for Ethernet and control. Use 6A for hdmi.
JPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 11:09 PM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPL View Post
Cat6A is the way to go for hdmi. You only need one for video, one for ethernet(I avoid using the transmit/receive units for Ethernet), and one for control. Cat5e is fine for Ethernet and control. Use 6A for hdmi.
Either one will work fine for HDMI.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:30 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 512
Rewards Points: 2
Default

debating on running HDMI cable or cat 5e extender.


Cat5e, while not ideal, WILL work just fine.

If you want to do this the right way your options are:

Use HDBT Lite extenders (MUCH more reliable) than the typical HDMI extenders (Wyrestorm EX-1UTP-70, or Zektor Solocat HDL are good choices).


Either of these will also give you IR , or RS232 control over the source equipment.

Then:

You need to determine how, and where, you want the various sources to be distributed.

Most likely you're looking at using a 8x8 Matrix for the switching, or you're going to need to double up on the extenders and do the switching at the display.

Additionally:

You would need some very good quality programmable remotes to ensure the system is user friendly.


I fully understand what you're trying to accomplish. But you do need to bear in mind, that it will not be wallet friendly.


I do this stuff on a day to day basis...

ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running cat6 cable and grounding outlet zipmsp Electrical 13 03-31-2014 08:36 AM
connecting hd tv to av receiver using arc and hdmi cable raghavan Electrical 7 05-22-2013 06:12 PM
What is Code/Best Practices for Running a 240V cable to other Side of Room? imautoparts Electrical 16 01-02-2013 12:19 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM
Running CATV cable tima2381 Remodeling 4 03-27-2007 10:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.