Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


I can't find any info on this idea anywhere online, so maybe it is just that crazy. I am looking to move my home theater setup from the basement to our second floor where we spend 95% of our time now that we have a baby. I'm struggling with where to mount the cable, DVD and audio boxes. There is not attic space above that part of the house since its a lofted ceiling. I can't go down since its a finished basement.

So my thought was, since the TV will be mounted on an exterior wall, why not build out a weatherproof outside box to store the devices? I have an RF remote, so control is not an issue (except for the DVD player, but perhaps I could build an access door from the inside.

I have no concerns about what this looks like from the outside since its a wooded area of my yard and nobody sees that side of the house (its the same side we have the AC compressor and oil tank on).

I'm not sure this will be worth the trouble but just curious as to why this would be a bad idea - moisture maybe? Anyone ever see anything like this?

the1hangingchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


if you have an RF remote, why not put everything in a closet, or in another room? there is no reason to have the boxes right next to the tv, put it somewhere easier and run cables to TV

__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


They way my house is setup (its a bi-level) there are no closets in that room. The nearest location would be the attic which would be on the opposite wall with no easy way to get the cabling over there. I would be looking at probably a 30' HDMI cable when going up to the loft ceiling and then across the length of the room into the attic.
the1hangingchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 08:23 AM   #4
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


what about the closet in an adjacent room?

why not just put the stuff on a bookshelf in same room?

To do what you suggest, I assume you'll have to cut out a stud or two to make enough room for your equipment. It's not difficult to do ( google instructions on framing a window opening), but neither is fishing wires up or down a wall.

don't take this the wrong way, but if you think running a couple cables through your attic is too difficult, are you really willing and able to cut a hole in a load bearing exterior wall, frame it so it properly carries the load of your roof , then do all the exterior work to make it weathertight so you won't ruin your equipment and compromise the structrual integrity of your entire house?
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 09:40 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


Well, what I should have mentioned in my OP was that there used to be an in-wall AC unit there. When the previous owners put in central air, they closed it up. So there is already an opening framed out behind the sheetrock.

This isn't my #1 option but just something that occurred to me - I couldn't find anything online about it so I thought I'd ask.
the1hangingchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 09:51 AM   #6
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


Ok, that does change things a bit. But personally, I still think I'd just put it in a cabinet somewhere in the room, or elsewhere in the house. especially since you have already invested in the RF remote

How close was the A/C to where the TV will go? How do you plan to run wires ( surface or in-wall) Where is the power source? Those A/C units usally had a 220 plug a foot or so away, so I assume you'll convert that to 120v and run a powerstrip cord from there into the A/C "nook"? If so i think a cabinet on the floor would give you a much cleaner look.
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 09:51 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


I think the answer you're looking for is that it's not a problem. Insulate it, keep the moisture out, and MAKE SURE it can breath to keep the temperatures down. The air need to circulate. Heat is your enemy. Put your surround sound receiver above all other components as it runs very hot.
onetec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:33 AM   #8
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


Quote:
Originally Posted by onetec View Post
I think the answer you're looking for is that it's not a problem.
Sounds to me like he was hoping someone would talk him out of it
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 07:48 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Chips View Post
Sounds to me like he was hoping someone would talk him out of it
I would hope someone would talk ME out of it!
onetec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 09:33 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Crazy Idea - mounting cable/AV boxes outside house


One of the main problems is sealing that opening
Just like a window it will need to be properly flashed & sealed or it will lead to leaks & rot

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
No House Wrap On New House JoeZ430 Building & Construction 34 11-29-2007 10:51 AM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.